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About the Child Care Immunization Report 
2021 – 2022 

Child care immunization report 
Children enrolled in licensed child care centers are required to show they have received certain immunizations or 
have a legal exemption. Every year, child care centers that are covered under a Minnesota Department of Human 
Services (DHS) Rule 3 license are required to report the immunization status of children enrolled in their center to 
the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH). This report ensures compliance with the Minnesota immunization 
law (Minnesota Statutes, Section 121A.15 and Minnesota Rules Chapter 4604). Child care data for the 2021-22 
reporting year is now available on Child Care Immunization Data 
(www.health.state.mn.us/people/immunize/stats/childcare/). This allows community leaders, health care 
providers, child care center staff, and parents to see the immunization and exemption percentages for their child 
care center. 

Data collection 
Only DHS Rule 3 licensed child care centers are required to complete the child care immunization report. Rule 3 
licensed centers are generally located in a center (not a home), care for a larger number of children, and require 
staff qualifications and training. For more information, visit DHS Licensing (https://mn.gov/dhs/general-
public/licensing/).  

Child care immunization reports include hepatitis B, diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis (DTaP); polio; measles, 
mumps, and rubella (MMR); haemophilis influenzae type B; varicella (chicken pox); and hepatitis A vaccines. This 
table shows the number of required doses for children age 24 months or older. 

Age Hepatitis B 
doses DTaP doses Polio doses HIB doses MMR doses Varicella 

doses 
Hepatitis A 

doses 

24 months 
and older 3 4 3 1a 1 1b 1a 

Children who are missing doses or who are partially vaccinated, but do not have a legal exemption on file are 
counted in the “No Doses” and “Partially Vaccinated” categories respectively. Many of these children may begin 
child care incompletely vaccinated and then catch up. The percentage of children with documented legal 
exemptions – Non-medical (NM) and Medical (ME) – is also reported. The child care center staff must report data 
for all children that are 3 months or older, but the data made available on the web only includes children who are 
24 months or older. We have only included the older children because younger children receive vaccines within 
shorter time frames that make analysis difficult. 

2021-22 response rate  
For the 2021-22 reporting year, 1417 of 1723 (82.24%) child care centers submitted a child care immunization 
report to MDH. There were 62,803 children age 24 months or older who were included in these reports. The 
lower response rate is likely due to the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic. Possible reasons for non-reporting 
include temporary closure (which is not always reported) and decreased capacity to perform administrative tasks.  
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Other immunization data 
Child care data differ from other MDH immunization coverage data on several important factors including: the 
age groups represented, method of collection, and the individual vaccines that are included. The other available 
immunization coverage data are from the Minnesota Immunization Information Connection (MIIC), the Annual 
Immunization Status Report (AISR), and the National Immunization Survey (NIS). For more information on these 
data, see Immunization Statistics (www.health.state.mn.us/people/immunize/stats). 
a. The requirements differ from the immunization schedule recommended by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) 
immunization schedule. The above requirements are the minimum number of doses that are required for enrollment in child care, but to 
be fully protected children should receive additional doses for HIB and Hepatitis A. Please refer to Vaccines for Infants, Children, and 
Adolescents (www.health.state.mn.us/people/immunize/basics/kids.html) for the complete childhood immunization schedule.  

b. If the child has had chickenpox disease, varicella shots are not required. If the disease occurred after Sept. 1, 2010, the child’s doctor 
must sign a form.  

Minnesota Department of Health 
Vaccine Preventable Disease Section 
PO Box 64975 
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975 
651-201-5503 or 800-657-3970  
www.health.state.mn.us/immunize 
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To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-5414. 

http://www.health.state.mn.us/immunize
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