

Information on Meningococcal Booster Dose Requirements

6/1/2021

This information is for K-12 school administrators and school nurses.

The meningococcal (MenACWY) booster dose will be required for all 12th grade students beginning in the 2021-22 school year. Generally, students should have received the first dose of MenACWY vaccine prior to seventh grade, followed by a booster dose when the student turns 16 years of age. The practical implementation for the school requirement is as follows:

- Grades 7 through 11: One dose
- Grade 12: Two doses

However, there are three special situations that deviate from the regular two-dose requirement for 12th graders.

1. The student received the first dose of MenACWY after 16 years of age.

 Students who receive their first dose of MenACWY at or after age 16 are not required to receive a second dose. This is because students who receive only one dose at or after age 16 will likely be protected through the remainder of the high-risk time period.

2. The student received two doses of MenACWY vaccine before 15 years 6 months of age.

- Students who received two doses of MenACWY before age 15 years 6 months (186 months) need to get a third dose to be in compliance with the school requirements. This is also in line with medically acceptable standards.
- Parents who are unwilling or unable to get an appropriately timed booster dose may submit a non-medical exemption.
- While it is best practice to ensure appropriately timed dosing of vaccines, schools may choose to temporarily modify their approach if they do not have the capacity to ensure appropriate timing.
- As the law is more uniformly implemented, inappropriately-timed or spaced doses should be less common.

3. The student is over 19 years of age.

- The MenACWY booster is not a routine recommendation for people older than age 19.
- Schools may report students over age 19 as "meets requirements" regardless of their MenACWY history.

The Minnesota Immunization Information Connection (MIIC) forecaster

- The MIIC forecaster is a clinical tool to assist providers in ensuring their patients are up-todate on vaccines. It should be used in conjunction with clinical judgement and the person's own medical history.
- The forecaster has been updated to recommend a dose of MenACWY at age 16, even if the child previously received two doses of vaccine.
 - To help account for previous practices that may have routinely given the booster early, MIIC will validate doses given as early as age 15 years 6 months.
- We created a Specifications for Meningococcal Vaccine guidance document for student information system vendors at School Health Personnel Immunization and Disease Reporting (www.health.state.mn.us/people/immunize/ed/school.html). This was sent to the vendors and matches the MIIC forecaster guidance.

Minnesota Department of Health Immunization Program PO Box 64975 St. Paul, MN 55164-0975 651-201-5503 health.aisr@state.mn.us www.health.state.mn.us/immunize

6/1/21

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-5414.