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What to Know When Buying Prescription Hearing Aids 
Who do I see to buy prescription hearing aids? 
In Minnesota, both audiologists and hearing instrument dispensers sell prescription hearing aids. Under 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 153A.15 subdivision 1(1) 
(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/153A.15#stat.153A.15.1), persons under 18 years of age must be 
evaluated by an audiologist before getting prescription hearing aids. 

How do audiologists and hearing instrument dispensers differ? 

 

Do I have to see a medical doctor before I get prescription hearing aids? 
Since December 2016, most people over the age of 18 do not need to be evaluated by a medical doctor before 
obtaining prescription hearing aids. However, if a practitioner finds that you have one of the following 
conditions, they should refer you to a doctor to determine if the condition is medically or surgically 
correctable. These conditions include: 

 Your ear has an unusual shape.  

 Your ear was injured in an accident. 

 You saw drainage (fluid) coming out of your ear. 

 Your ear feels painful or uncomfortable. 

 You have a lot of ear wax, or you think something could be in your ear. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/153A.15#stat.153A.15.1
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/153A.15#stat.153A.15.1
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 You get dizzy or have a feeling of spinning or swaying. 

 Your hearing changed suddenly. 

 Your hearing fluctuates (gets worse then gets better again). 

 You have conductive, sensorineural, mixed, or asymmetric hearing loss. 

 Conductive hearing loss means hearing loss resulting from abnormalities of the outer and/or 
middle ear. 

 Sensorineural hearing loss means hearing loss resulting from damage to the inner ear and/or the 
auditory nerve. 

 Mixed Hearing Loss means a combination of conductive and sensorineural hearing loss. 

 Asymmetric Hearing Loss means the hearing loss of one ear is significantly different from the other 
ear over a range of frequencies. 

 You hear ringing or buzzing in only one ear. 

Should I buy used prescription hearing aids to save money? 
A practitioner may sell used or rebuilt prescription hearing aids. However, the practitioner must tell you the 
aids are used or rebuilt. Both the container and an attached tag must state that they are used. Buying used 
prescription hearing aids is not recommended. 

How do I learn to use my prescription hearing aids? 
Your practitioner must give you a user guide with your hearings aids and must review the user guide with you. 

What should I get in writing? 
The practitioner must give you: 

 A copy of your contract. 

 Information about the warranty on the prescription hearing aids that you purchase. 

 A user guide for your prescription hearing aids. 

 A notice that you may cancel your purchase within 45 days. 

 Notice of your right to cancel within 3 days if you purchased from someone who came to your home. 

 A copy of the results of your hearing test (your audiogram), upon request. 

 All prescription hearing aids must show manufacturer or distributor name, model name or number, 
serial number, and year of manufacture. 
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Can I cancel my purchase and get my money back? 
You may cancel for any reason. But you must: 

 Cancel within 45 days of purchase. 

 Put your cancellation in writing. Keep a copy. 

 Return the prescription hearing aids (mail or return to office). If the practitioner has your hearing aids 
any time during the 45 days, you have a longer time to cancel. You have one extra day for each 24-hour 
period the practitioner has your hearing aids. 

You can get all your money back if: 

 Your contract does not say there is a “cancellation fee,” or 

 You bought the prescription hearing aids from someone who came to your home, and you cancel 
within 3 days. 

If your contract includes a “cancellation fee,” the practitioner may keep part of the money. The fee cannot be 
over $250. The practitioner must refund your money within 30 days. 

I made an “in home” purchase. Do I have any other rights? 
If you bought prescription hearing aids from someone who came to your home, they must give you a “notice 
of cancellation.” This notice tells you about your right to cancel. If you cancel in writing by midnight of the 
third business day after the sale, you can get all your money back. You can give your cancellation to the 
practitioner at the address in the contract, or you can mail it to that address. If you mail it, the time that 
counts is when you put it in the mailbox. The practitioner must refund all your money in ten days, even if the 
contract states there will be a cancellation fee. If the practitioner did not provide a “notice of cancellation,” 
you can cancel verbally or in writing. 

What if my prescription hearing aids need repairs? 
All new prescription hearing aids must have at least a one-year warranty from the manufacturer. If your 
prescription hearing aid is under a manufacturer’s warranty, the aid will be serviced for any reason including 
wear due to normal use. It may also include a “clean and check” service. Your contract will tell you about other 
warranties you have. Any warranty will be in writing. The practitioner must give you a copy. The warranty 
must state: 

 The name, address, and phone number of the service provider. 

 The length of the warranty. 

 The prescription hearing aids’ model and serial number. 

 The cost of the warranty. 

 How much you must pay before the warranty applies. 

 All other warranty terms and conditions. 
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What should I do before I buy? 

Shop and compare 
Quality, prices, models, guarantees, warranties, and service agreements vary. Many practitioners offer more 
time to try prescription hearing aids, more time to cancel, and better warranties and refunds than the law 
requires. 

Choose your practitioner 
You do not have to buy from the person who tested your hearing. Check your insurance. Find out if you have 
coverage. Also find out if you need a medical evaluation to have coverage. 

Ask if the practitioner sells different brands 
Some brands may fit you better than others. Ask about follow-up visits for fitting and adjustment. Find out 
where to go for adjustments and what they will cost. 

Ask about regular service 
Some brands can only be worked on by certain practitioners. 

Ask about telecoils and hearing loops 
Telecoils improve sound from telephone receivers and in some public places. 

Negotiate 
You can negotiate the features of the prescription hearing aids and the service agreement. Decide what 
features you want. 

Make sure agreements are in writing 
Get agreements regarding the sale, service contract, guarantees, warranties, batteries, and optional features 
in writing. You can ask for changes in pre-printed contract forms. 

Ask if the practitioner does “real-ear measurement” (REM) 
REM measures how well the prescription hearing aid works when it is in your ear. 

Decide if you want replacement insurance 
Compare rates from your homeowner’s policy. 
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Key Minnesota statutes 
 Audiologists: Minnesota Statutes, section 148.512 

(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/148.512#stat.148.512.12).  

 Hearing instrument dispensers: Minnesota Statutes, section 153A.13 
(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/153A.13). 

Minnesota Department of Health 
Health Regulation Division 
Health Occupations Program 
PO Box 64882 
St. Paul, MN 55164-0882 
Phone: 651-201-4200 | Toll Free: 800-657-3837 
health.hid@state.mn.us 
www.health.state.mn.us 

8/28/2024 

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-4200. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/148.512#stat.148.512.12
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/148.512#stat.148.512.12
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/153A.13
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/153A.13
mailto:health.hid@state.mn.us?subject=Hearing%20Aids
http://www.health.state.mn.us/
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