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PROTECTING, MAINTAINING & IMPROVING THE HEALTH OF ALL MINNESOTANS

May 12, 2017

Derrick Wetenkamp

RE:  MDH File Number: BAC17024
Dear Mr. Wetenkamp:

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you provided body art without a
valid body art technician license, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03,
subdivision 1 (a) and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3). Therefore, MDH is
issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $506. This is authorized
pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4.

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please
pay the assessed civil penalty by check made payable to “State of Minnesota, Treasurer.” If you
wish to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in
error and the grounds for your appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days
from the date this letter is received by you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right
to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes,
Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and must include specific
grounds for challenging the Department’s decision.

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline
outlined in the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:

Catherine Lloyd, Assistant Manager of Health Occupations Program
Minnesota Department of Health

PO Box 64882

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882

An equal opportunity employer
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You may also fax your request to Catherine Lloyd at (651)201-3839. If you have any questions
about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at (651)201-3728.

Sincerely,

oo Dbridoe 2

Susan Winkelmann, Assistant Division Director
Health Regulation Division

Enclosure
cc: Catherine Lloyd, Assistant Manager of Health Occupations Program




HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

A Determination In the Matter of
Derrick Wetenkamp
Body Art Technician

AUTHORITY

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 (a), effective January 1,
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid tattoo
technician license issued by the commissioner.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), a violation of any
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action.

. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art
technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of
discipline MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license, suspension of a license, or
any reasonable lesser action.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also
impose, for each violation, a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the
licensee of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for
costs of the investigation.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data.

FINDINGS OF FACT

On April 7, 2014, Derrick Wetenkamp (Hereinafter “Technician”) was issued a full body
art technician license. The body art technician license, #310979, expired on March 31,
2016.

In the body art technician license application, specifically question #6, it asked
Technician which address would he like to receive correspondence from MDH.
Technician circled “Employer.”

On January 15, 2016, MDH sent Technician a license renewal letter. Attached to the
letter was a renewal application. On January 27, 2016, the letter was returned from the
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postmaster as “Return to sender,” “Not deliverable as addressed,” and “Unable to
forward.”

On March 31, 2016, Technician’s body art license expired.

.. On April 1, 2016, MDH sent Technician a failure to renew body art license letter. The

letter reminded Technician not to provide body art services until his license was
renewed. The letter came back from the post office as “Return to Sender,” “Not
deliverable as addressed,” and “Unable to Forward.”

On April 28, 2016, Technician emailed MDH regarding his expired body art license. MDH
replied back by advising Technician what he needed to do to renew his body art license.

On June 14, 2016, MDH received a body art technician license renewal application from
Technician.

The application was deemed incomplete as Technician did not include the full amount
for the application fee and a copy of his blood borne pathogen training certificate.

On July 20, 2016, MDH received the remaining application fee from Technician.
However, Technician did not include a copy of his blood borne pathogen training
certificate. Technician was advised, by email, that his application would not be
processed until MDH has a copy of his certificate of completion for blood borne
pathogens.

On December 2, 2016, credential staff sent a letter to Technician requesting the status
of his blood borne pathogen training. The letter reminded Technician the license
renewal process would not go forward until a copy of his blood borne pathogen
certificate was received.

On January 25, 2017, Technician’s body art license was renewed.

On January 26, 2017, MDH sent Technician a Notice of Investigation letter. MDH
requested a written response from Technician no later than February 27, 2017.

On February 21, 2017, MDH received a response from Technician.

The response from Technician was not clear.

On March 6, 2017, MDH sent another letter to Technician. In the letter, MDH asked
Technician if he provided unlicensed body art services from April 1, 2016 to August 5,

2016. MDH requested a response from Technician no later than April 7, 2017.

On April 4, 2017, MDH received a response from Technician.




17. In the response, Technician stated, “In closing | worked at _during the times
and dates you questioned.”

CONCLUSION

1. Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.03, subdivision 1 (a), and section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), as he continued to
practice body art after the expiration of his body art technician license on April 1, 2016
and before the renewal of his license.

DETERMINATION

1. Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $506,
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation.

e Technician may pay the $506 civil penalty in monthly installments of upto 5
months after the effective date of this action. If Technician chooses to make
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program,
PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this
document.

e Each payment will be made by check to “State of Minnesota, Treasure,” and
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time.

e The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any
other source for collection, if Practitioner misses a monthly payment by 14
calendar days after the established deadline.






