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Protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans  
August 8, 2014  

My Thu Thi Truong  

RE:  MDH File Number: BAC12023  

Dear Ms. Truong:  ,  

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota  
Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you  provided body art services without a license, in  
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesoia Statutes, section  
146B.03, subdivision I (a).  Therefore, MDH is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil penalty in  
the amount of$323.  This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 146B.08,  
subdivision 4.  

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal.  If you accept, please pay the  
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota."  If you wish to appeal  
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your  
appeal.  Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date you received this letter.  
During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing,  
as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14.  Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and  
must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision.  

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the disciplin.e outlined in  
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:  

Gil Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program  
Minnesota Department of Health  
PO Box 64882  
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882  

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Gil  
Acevedo at (651)201-3727.  If you have any questions about this matter, piease contact Chee Lee at  
(651)201-3728.  

Sincerely,  

Darcy Miner, Director  
Compliance Monitoring Division  

Enclosure '
cc:  Gil Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program ' 
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM  
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH  

A Determination In the Matter of  
My Thu Thi Truong  
Body Art Technician  

AUTHORITY  

1. 	 The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline a body art  
operator for violations oflaw under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3.  
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline  
MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action.  

2.  Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also  
impose a civil penalty, for each violation, not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the  
operator of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for  
costs of the investigation.  

3.  Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any  
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action.  

4.  Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, effective January 1,  
2011, no individual may perform body art, including permanent makeup, unless the  
individual holds a valid technician license issued by MDH.  

FINDINGS OF FACT  

1. 	 My Thu Thi Truong (hereinafter "Operator") owns Le's Beauty Salon    Permanent  
Makeup (hereinafter "Establishment") in Minneapolis.  Operator provides permanent  
makeup services at the Establishment.  

2. 	 On August 18, 2011, MDH received an email from a Minneapolis code compliance  
officer with the Minneapolis Environmental Health and Food Safety Department.  The  
email stated an inspection was performed at the Establishment that day and that the  
Operator was providing permanent makeup without a body art license.  

3. 	 On August 19, 2011, a Notice of Illegal Practice letter was sent to Operator.  Enclosed  
with the letter was a body art application packet.  

4. 	 On September 8, 2011, MDH received a body art license application from Operator.  



5. 	 Operator's body art technician license application was incomplete.  On September 9,  
2011, and November 18, 2011, MDH sent letters to Operator advising her that her  
application could not be processed as it was incomplete.  The letters had a list of items  
Operator needed to provide to MDH in order to process her application.  The list included  
verification of experience.  Verification of experience is evidence of2,080 hours of  
tattooing in the past five years.  Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 10,  
repealed in 2013, required evidence of2,080 hours of tattooing to allow an individual to  
be "grandfathered" in.  

6. 	 On November 22, 2011, Operator submitted to MDH all the information needed to  
process the application.  

7. 	 On December 1, 2011, Operator was issued a full body art technician license.  

8. 	 On March 3, 2014 and June 24, 2014, MDH sent letters to Operator requesting the  
informed consent forms from January 1, 2011toNovember30, 2011.  

9. 	 On July 25, 2014, MDH received the informed consent forms by mail.  

10. A review of the informed consent forms shows Operator provided a total of 9 permanent  
makeup procedures at the Establishment from February 2011  to July 2011.  
Operator performed 1 permanent makeup services in February 2011, 1 permanent  
makeup service in March 2011, 3 permanent makeup services in April 2011, 2 permanent  
makeup services in June 2011, and 2 permanent makeup service in July 2011.  

CONCLUSION  

1. 	 Operator did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section  
146B.08, subdivisions 3(3), because she practiced body art before she was issued a  
technician's license, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.03, subdivision  
l(a).  

DETERMINATION  

1. 	 Operator is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $323,  
which deprives Operator of the economic advantage gained by the violation and  
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation.  

• 	 Operator may pay the $323 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 3  
months after the effective date of this action.  If Operator chooses to make  
installments, she must notify MDH in writing about her intentions, including how  
many installments she intends to make, in what amount, and over which time  
period.  Operator must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, PO  
Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this  
document.  



• 	 Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer" and  
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164- 
0882, or any other address specified by MDH.  Each payment is due by the last  
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time.  

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part  
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if  
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established  
deadline.  When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the  
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.17, to  
obtain a judgment against Technician without further notice or proceedings  




