MINNESOTA

DEPARTMENT oF HEALTH

Protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans

January 3, 2017

Nicole Tijan

RE:  MDH File Number: BAC17014
Dear Ms. Tijan:

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you failed, within 30 days, to
provide information in response to a written request, in violation of Minnesota Statutes,
section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (2). Therefore, MDH is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a
civil penalty in the amount of $500. This is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.08, subdivision 4.

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please
pay the assessed civil penalty by check made payable to “State of Minnesota, Treasurer.” If you
wish to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in
error and the grounds for your appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days
from the date this letter is received by you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right
to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes,
Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and must include specific
grounds for challenging the Department’s decision.

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline
outlined in the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:

Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program
Minnesota Department of Health

PO Box 64882

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882

General Information: 651-201-5000 ¢ Toll-free: 888-345-0823 * www.health.state.mn.us
An equal opportunity employer
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You may also fax it to Anne Kukowski at (651) 201-3839. If you have any questions about this
matter, please contact Chee Lee at (651) 201-3728.

Sincerely,

-

Worulolle—r

Susan Winkelmann, Assistant Director
Health Regulation Division '

Enclosure
cc: Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

A Determination In the Matter of
Nicole Tijan
Body Art Technician

AUTHORITY

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (2), the Minnesota
Department of Health (MDH) may discipline a technician if they fail, within 30 days, to
provide information in response to a written request by the commissioner.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline
MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license, suspension of a license, or any
reasonable lesser action.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4 (5), MDH may also
impose, for each violation, a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the
licensee of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for
costs of the investigation.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data.

FINDINGS OF FACT

On, September 22, 2014, Nicole Tijan’s (hereinafter “Technician”) body art technician
license, #330235, was renewed. The license expired on March 31, 2016.

On January 15, 2016, MDH sent Technician a license renewal letter. The letter reminded
Technician her body art technician license was set to expire and to renew by a certain
date to avoid late fee penalties. Enclosed with the letter was a body art technician
renewal application.

MDH did not receive a body art technician license renewal application from Technician.

On April 1, 2016, MDH sent Technician a letter advising her not to provide any further
body art procedures as her body art license had expired.

On September 6,2016, MDH received a temporary body art technician license renewal
application from an applicant whose temporary body art license was set to expire. In




the renewal application, the Technician signed an affirmation agreeing to supervise the
applicant.

The affirmation states, “I certify that | am a licensed body art technician and that | will
supervise this applicant in a licensed establishment. | have read Minnesota Statutes,
Chapter 146B. | understand that a temporary technician license expires one (1) year
from issuance. | understand that | am responsible for the above applicant until MDH
receives my written and signed statement that | wish to cease supervision or until the
expiration of the temporary technician license.” Technician signed and dated the
affirmation on September 4, 2016.

On September 9, 2016, MDH sent Technician a letter of inquiry. The letter asked
Technician if she provided any tattoo services while her license had expired. A stamped
self-address envelope was included with the letter. MDH requested a response from
Technician no later than October 9, 2016. MDH did not receive a response from
Technician.

On October 12, 2016, MDH sent Technician a Notice of Investigation letter for failure,
within 30 days, to provide information in response to a written request. MDH
requested a response by November 13, 2016. MDH did not receive a response from
Technician.

CONCLUSION

Technician failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.08, subdivision 3(2) as she failed, within 30 days, to provide information in
response to a written request by the commissioner.

DETERMINATION

Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $500,
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. MDH will not renew any body art
licenses Technician submits until the civil penalty is paid off and Technician cooperates
in the investigation. If Technician continues to violate body art statutes 146B, MDH may
initiate new investigations which may lead to more penalties.

e Technician may pay the $500 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 5
months after the effective date of this action. If Technician chooses to make
installments, she must notify MDH in writing about her intentions, including how

--many installments she intends to make, in what amount, and over which time -~ —
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program,




PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this
document.

Each payment will be made by check to “State of Minnesota, Treasure,” and
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time.

The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any
other source for collection, if Practitioner misses a monthly payment by 14
calendar days after the established deadline.




