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Protecting maintaining and improving the health ofallMinnesotans
April 4, 2014 

David Zappia 
Tatts by Zapp 
235 ���East Chestnut Street 
Stillwater, MN 55082 

RE: MDH File Number: BAC13058 & BAC14008 

Dear Mr. Zappia: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the 
Minnesota Department ofHealth (MDH) has determined that you aided or abetted technicians in: 
[l] providing body art services without a license in your establishment, in violation ofMinnesota 
Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(5), and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, 
subdivision 1 (a); [2] providing body art services in your establishment, while under a temporary. 
license, withoutany proper supervision, in violation ofMinnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, 
subdivisions 3(5), Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivisions I (a), and Minnesota 
Statutes, section 146B.03 subdivision 7; [3] failing to obtain from the client a signed and dated� 
informed consent form before providing body art, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivision 3(5), and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07 subdivision 3; [4] failing to 
have client provide the necessary documents to establish proof ofage, in violation ofMinnesota 
Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivsion 3(5), and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07 subdivision 
1; MDH has also determined that, as the operator ofa body art establishment, you: [1] failed to 
maintain proper records for each body art procedure, in violation ofMinnesota Statutes, section 
1468.08 subdivision 3(3) and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07 subdivision 4; and [2] failed 
to perform spore tests once a month for each sterilizer used to ensure proper functioning, in 
violation ofMinnesota Statutes, section l 46B.08 subdivision 3 (3) and Minnesota Statutes, 
section l 46B.06, subdivision 2 (h). Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand, 
imposing a civil penalty in the amount of$3,074, and issuing you a conditional establishment 
license. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 
4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. Ifyou accept, please 
pay the assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State ofMinnesota." Ifyou 
wish to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error 
and the grounds for your appeal. your written statement must be received within 30 days from 
the date this letter is received by you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to 
challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, aV�provided under Minnesota Statutes, 
Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made._in writing and must include specific grounds 
for challenging the Departinent's decisiRQ� 
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You must provide a written statement ofyour decision to either accept or appeal the discipline 
outlined in the enclosed Determination, within 30-days of your receipt of�tKLs ietter, to: 

Anne Kukowski, Acting Director of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department ofHealth 
. PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it 
WR Anne Kukowski at (651)201-3839. Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please contact 
Chee Lee at (651)201-3728. 

Sincerely,
Darcy Miner, Director 

Compliance Monitoring Division 


Enclosure 

cc: Anne Kukowski, Acting Director of the Health Occupations Program 



OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

A Determination In the Matter of 
Tatts by Zapp, Stillwater 
Body Art Establisliment 

AUTHORITY 

1. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline a body art 
operator for violations oflaw under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision 2; 
and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, 
section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may impose include refusal 
to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 

2. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also 
impose a civil penalty, for each violation, not exceeding $10,000, that deprives the 
operator of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for 
costs of the investigation. 

3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(5), MDH may take 
disciplinary actions on an operator of an establisbment who has aided or abetted another 
person in violating any provision of this chapter. 

4. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, effective January 1, 
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician 
license issued by MDH. 

5. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 7, a temporary license may 
be issued if a licensed technician agrees to supervise the applicant 

6. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.01, subdivision 28, "supervision" means 
the physical presence of a technician licensed under this chapter while a body art is being 
performed. 

7. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.07, subdivision 3, the technician shall 
obtain from the client a signed and dated informed consent form before a body art. 
procedure occurs. 

8. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision l(a), a technician shall 
require proof of age before performing any body art procedure on a client Proof of age 
must be established by one of the following: [1] valid driver's license or identification 
card issued by state of Minnesota or another state that includes a photograph and date of 



birth; [2] valid military identification card issued by United States Department of 

Defense; [3] valid. passport; [4] resident alien card; [5] tribal identification card. 


9. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

10. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision 4, for each client, the 
establishment operator shall maintain proper records for each procedure. The records 
must be kept for three years and must be available for inspection. The record must 
include the date ofprocedure, information on the required picture identification showing 
the name, age, and current address, and the name and license number of the technician 
performing the procedure. 

11. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.06, subdivision 2 (h), at least once a month, 
but not to exceed 30 days between tests; a spore test must be conducted on each sterilizer 
used to ensure proper functioning. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. 	 Tatts by Zapp (hereinafter "Establishment'') located at 235 1/2 East Chestnut Street, 
Stillwater, Minnesota is licensed as a body art establishment, under license number 
430086, effective December 31, 2010. David A. Zappia is the sole owner/operator 
(hereinafter "Operator'') of the Establishment 

2. 	 The Operator lives in New York and does not oversee everyday operations at the 
Establishment 

3. 	 On August 2, 2013, MOH received information that Edward Nowiak (hereinafter 
"Technician EN") was providing tattoo services at the Establishment with an expired 
temporary body art license. MOH received further information that Rodger Booth 
(hereinafter ''Technician RB") was providing tattoo services at the Establishment with a 
temporary body art license however with no supervisor present. \ 

4. 	 Technician EN was issued a temporary license effective December 31, 2010, with an 
expiration date of December 31, 2011. Technician EN's temporary license was renewed 
on January 25, 2012 with an expiration date ofJanuary 25, 2013. Both temporary license 
applications listed William Mizejewski (hereinafter "Technician WM'') as bis supervisor. 

5. 	 Technician RB was issued a temporary license effective October 3, 2012 with an 
expiration date ofOctober 3, 2013. The temporary license application listed Jesse 
Barkyoumb (hereinafter ''Technician JB'') listed as his supervisor. 

6. 	 On August 8, 2013, commencing at 3:30 pm, MOH representatives entered the 
Establishment to conduct an inspection. 



7. 	 MDH representatives made contact with Technician EN and Technician RB inside the 
. Establishment. 	Technician EN stated he has been providing body art at the Establishment 
for the past five and a half years including the months in which his.temporary body art 
. technician license was expired. Technician RB stated he has been providing body art at 
the Establishment without any supervisor present for the past few months. 

8. 	 It was later discovered that Technician JB left the Establishment sometime around March 
19, 2013 and Technician WM left the Establishment sometime around Febniary 2012. 

9. 	 MDH sent Notice.ofillegal Practice letters to both Technician EN and Technician RB on 
September 24, 2013, November 21, 2013, and December 30, 2013 requesting informed 
consent forms for the past three years. MDH did not receive a response from either 
Technician. 

10. 	 On February 14, 2014, MDH representative entered the Establishment for an inspection 
as well as to collect the informed consent forms for all body art procedures that occurred 
at the Establishment for the past three years. 

11. 	 Technician EN advised he is the new manager of the Establishment When asked for the 
informed conserit forms for the establishment for the past three years, Technician EN 
handed MDH representative a white plastic garbage bag filled with paperwork. It was 
later discovered that the paperwork was EN's informed consent forms from 2007 through 
2009 but did not include informed consent forms from the past three years for all 
employees from the Establishment. 

12. 	 When asked for spore test results, Technician EN stated he did not know exactly where 
the results were but knew tests for the Establishment has been done monthly. MDH 
representatives told Technician EN they would be back sometime next week and to find 
the spore test results. . .Technician EN was also advised to perform a spore test that day. 

13. 	 On February 18, 2014, MDH representatives entered the Establishment to collect the 
spore test results and the informed consent forms; Technician EN handed MDH 
representatives a second white plastic garbage bag filled with paperwork. It was later 
discovered the plastic bag contained informed consent forms from January 2011 to 
October 2012 and that they all belonged to Technician EN. Informed consent forms from 
the past three years for all employees from the Establishment were not included. 

14. 	 Technician EN stated he could not get the spore test results as they were all locked in a 
cabinet and he did not have the key to open it The Establishment agreed to a voluntary 
closure. MDH representatives advised Technician EN they would be back the next day 
to collect the remaining paperwork. When asked, Technician EN stated he did not do a . 
spore test over the weekend. Technician EN was advised to perform a spore test that day. 

15. 	 On February 19, 2014, MDH representatives entered the Establishment to collect the 
spore test results and informed consent forms. Technician EN stated he only had spore 



test results from August 2011toJuly2013. Technician EN stated no spore test has been 
performed for the Establishment since July 2013. When asked, Technician EN stated he 
did not do a spore test preceding day. The Establishment agreed to remain closed until 
further notice. 

16. . A Cease and Desist Order was issued for the Establishment, effective February 27, 2014. 

17. 	 On February 28, the Establishment emailed MDH results for a spore test performed on 
February 26, 2014. . 

-
18. 	 On March 7, 2014, all the informed consent forms for the Establishment from January 

2011 to February 2014 were submitted to MDH. 

19. 	 Based on the informed consent forms, Technician EN provided body art with an expired 
license during the month ofJanuary 2012 and from February 2013 to July 2013. 
Technician EN also provided body art without a supervisor present from February 2012 
to January 2013. 

20. 	 Based on the informed consent forms, Technician RB provided body art without a 
supervisor present from March 2013 to July 2013. 

21. 	 A review of the informed consent forms collected shows many forms were missing 
procedure dates and the technician's name and license number. 

22. 	 One informed consent form collected had a photocopy of an individual with an 
identification card from Maplewood Middle School during the school year of2008-2009. 
Attached with the identification card is a form in Spanish that appears to be a birth 
certificate. The date.on the informed consent form shows the body art procedure 
occurred on May 6, 2013. 

CONCLUSION 

1. 	 Operator failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08 subdivision 3 (5), sectionl46B.03, subdivisions 1, and section 146B.03, 
subdivision 7. Operator allowed Technician EN to provide body art at his Establishment 
with an expired temporary license. Operator also allowed Technician EN and Technician 
RB, while under temporary licenses, to provide body art without supervisors present. 
Although temporary licenses were issued to Technician EN and Technician RB, 
temporary licenses are only deemed valid if the tattoo procedure is performed in the 
presence of and under the supervision ofa licensed technician. Therefore, Operator aided 
and abetted Technician EN and Technician RB by allowing them.to provide body art in 
his Establishment without licenses. 
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2. 	 Operator failed to comply with the requirements underMinnesota Statutes, section 
1468.08 subdivision 3 (5), section 146B.07, subdivision 3 and subdivision 4. A review 
ofthe informed consent forms collected from the Establishment shows many forms were 
without date ofprocedure and/or technician name and license number. Operator aided 
and abetted technicians in allowing the practice ofnot completing and/or having the 
required forms before performing body art procedures go on and not giving them proper 
training. 

3. 	 Operator failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08 subdivision 3 (5), and section 146B.07 subdivision 1 (a). One informed consent 
form had a photocopy ofa middle school identification with a certificate in Spanish. 
Operator aided and abetted technician in allowing him to provide body art in the 
establishment without having a client provide required documents to show proof of age. 

4. 	 Operator did not have the Informed Consent forms available when the Establishment was 
inspected. MDH representatives gave the Establishment several opportunities to provide 
the informed consent forms. It took three weeks for Operator to produce all the informed 
consent forms for the Establishment. 

5. 	 Operator did not comply with the requirements under Miunesota Statutes, section 
146B.06 subdivision 2 (h). Aside from the February 2014 spore test; the last spore test 
performed for the Establishment was in July of 2013. 

DETERMINATION 

1. 	 Establishment will be issued a conditional body art establishment license, with the 
following conditions: 

• 	 Establishment will comply with all requirements ofMinnesota Statutes, Chapter 
1468; 

• 	 The establishment license will be conditional for a period ofnot less than three 
years; 

• 	 The Establishment will perform a spore test once every 30 days as required by 
Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.06, subdivision 2 (h). The Establishment will 
send the spore test results to MDH within 3 working days of receiving the test 
result. The spore test result will be email to chee.lee@state.mn.us. Upon receipt 
ofthe test result, Investigator Chee Lee will email back to the Establishment a 
receipt .of the spore test. This process will continue for a year starting with March 
2014 and ending with March 2015. The spore test results will be kept in a folder 
that is stored in a locked cabinet file, among other required documents, for three 
years. 

• 	 The completed consent forms contain private data, including medical information, 
documentation ofa proof of age, signatures, and driver license data (name, 
address, and date ofbirth). During two separate inspections, the manager ofthe 
Establishment handed an MDH representative white plastic garbage bags 
containing informed consent forms. MDH is requiring the Establishment to 
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establish and maintain an organized and secured filing system such as a cabinet 
that has a locking mechanism to ensure confidentiality. Before obtaining 
approval to reopen your establishment at the conclusion of the MDH inspection, . 
you will be required to demonstrate for the MDH inspector: 

o 	 Ifrecords are stored on-site, Operator must demonstrate how 
. records are stored, which includes a method ofsecuring and 
locking the records; 

o 	 Ifrecords are stored in an off-site and secure location, Operator 
must be able to access an electronic copy ofthe records for 
inspection by MDH. 

• 	 After a period ofnot less than two years, Operator may request the conditional 
status be removed from his license. To do so, Operator must: 

o 	 Submit a written response for removal ofthe condition to the 
Director ofthe Health Occupations Program, Minnesota 
Department of Health, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-
0882; 

2. 	 Operator is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $3,074, 
which deprives Operator of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

• 	 Operator may pay the $3,074 civil penalty in monthly installments ofup to 18 
months after the effective date of this action. IfOperator chooses to make 
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how 
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time 
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, 
PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days ofreceipt of this 
document. 

• 	.. Each payment will be made by check to "State ofMinnesota, Treasurer," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day ofeach month; however, technician may prepay at any time. 

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part 
of the Minnesota Department ofRevenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.17, to 
obtain a judgment against Technician without further notice or proceedings. 




