
Effective March  12, 2014 
 

Protecting.  maintaining and improving the health of allMinnesotans  

January 31, 2014  

Nathan Szklarski  

RE:  MOH File Number: BAC 13085  

Dear Mr.  Szklarski:  

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota  
Department of Health (MOH) has determined that you provided body art services without a license, in  
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section  146B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section  
l 46B.03, subdivision 1.  Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand and a civil penalty in the  
amount of$316.  This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 214.10, and 146B.08,  
subdivision 4.  

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal.  If you accept, please pay the  
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota."  If you wish to appeal  
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your  
appeal.  Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by  
you.  During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case  
hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. ·Requests for a hearing should be made in  
writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision.  

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in  
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:  

  

Anne Kukowski, Acting Director of the Health Occupations Program  
Minnesota Department of Health  
PO B.ox 64882  
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882  

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Anne  
Kukowski at (651)201-3839.  If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at  
(651)201-3728.  

Sincerely,  

Darcy Miner, Director 
Compliance Monitoring Division  

Enclosure  

cc:  Anne Kukowski, Acting Director of the Health Occupations Program  
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM  
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH  

A Determination In the Matter of  
Nathan V. Szklarski  
Body Art Technician  

AUTHORITY  

1.  The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art  
technicians for violations oflaw under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision  
2; and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3. Pursuant to Minnesota  
Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may impose  
include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action.  

2.  Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section l 46B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also  
impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the licensee of any economic  
advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH for costs of the  
investigation.  

3.  Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any  
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action.  

4.  Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, no individual may  
perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician license issued by MDH.  

FINDINGS OF FACT  

1.  Nathan V.  Szklarski (Hereinafter "Technician"), was issued a temporary body art  
technician-tattoo license, effective October 10, 2012. Technician's temporary body art  
technic.ian-tattoo license expired on October 10, 2013.  

2.  On August 30, 2013, MDH received an application from Technician for a full body art  
technician license.  Technician did not provide all information MDH needed to process  
the application.  

3.  On September 28, 2013, MDH sent a letter requesting a log of Technician's supervised  
hours.  Technician faxed his log of supervised hours to MDH on October 23, 2013.  



4. 	 Processing Technician's full body art application revealed possible unlicensed practice  
from October 11, 2013 to the date he was issued a full body art technician license.  
Technician's file was referred to Investigation    Enforcement Unit for further  
investigation.  

5.  On November 19, 2013, Technician was issued a full body art technician license.  

6.  A Notice of Illegal Practice was sent to Technician on December 6, 2013.  MDH  
requested a written response from Technician no later than January 6, 2014.  

7.  On January 6, 2013, MDH received a letter from Technician.  Technician admitted to  
performing tattoos with no license from October 11, 2013 to November 18, 2013.  

8. 	 Technician provided the Informed Consent forms as requested by MDH.  Based on  
information in the forms, Technician provided 26 tattoo procedures from the time his  
temporary body art license expired to the time his full body art license was issued.  
Technician performed 12 tattoo services from October 11, 2013 to October 31, 2013 and  
14 tattoo services from November I, 2013 to November 18, 2013.  

CONCLUSION  

1. 	 Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section  
1468.03, subdivision I, because he continued to practice body art after the expiration of  
his temporary license on October IO,  2013 and before issuance of his full  license on  
November 19, 2013.  

DETERMINATION  

I.  Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $316,  
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and  
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation.  




