
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Effective December 5, 2014 


Protecting, maintaining and improving the health ofall Minnesotans 

September 17, 2014 

Joshua Strand 
Good Ti~es Tattoo Company 

·' 

RE: MDH File Number: BAC14040 

Dear Mr. Strand: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the 
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you aided or abetted technicians in: 
[1] providing body art services without a license in your establishment, in violation of Minnesota 
Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(5), and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, 
subdivision 1 (a); and [2] providing body art services in your establishment, while under a 
temporary license, without any proper supervision, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivisions 3(5), Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivisions 1 (a), and 
Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03 subdivision 7. MDH has also determined that, as the 
operator of a body art establishment, you failed to maintain proper records for each body art 
procedure, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivision 3(3) and Minnesota 
Statutes, section 146B.07 subdivision 4. Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand 
and imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $706. This action is authorized pursuant to 
Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. Ifyou accept, please 
pay the assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota." Ifyou 
wish to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error 
and the grounds for your appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from 
the date this letter is received by you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to 
challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, 
Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and must include specific grounds 
for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline 
outlined in the enclosed Deterlhination, Within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: 

Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 
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You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it 
to Gilbert Acevedo at (651)201-3727. Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please 
contact Chee Lee at (651)201-3728. 

Sincerely, 

~~u 
Darcy Miner, Director 

Compliance Monitoring Division 


Enclosure 

cc: Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 



HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 


A Determination In the Matter of 

Good Times Tattoo Company 


Body Art Establishment 


AUTHORITY 


1. 	 The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline a body art 
operator for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3. 
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline 
MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also 
impose a civil penalty, for each violation, not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the 
operator of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for 
costs of the investigation. 

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(5), MDH may take 
disciplinary actions on an operator of an establishment who has aided or abetted another 
person in violating any provision of this chapter. 

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, effective January 1, 
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician 
license issued by MDH. 

5. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 7, a temporary license may 
be issued if a licensed technician agrees to supervise the applicant. 

6. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.01, subdivision 28, "supervision" means 
the physical presence of a technician licensed under this chapter while a body art is being 
performed. 

7. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivision 3(3), MDH may take any of 
the disciplinary actions on an operator of an establishment who has violated any 
provision of this chapter. 

8. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07 subdivision 4, for each client, the body 
art establishment operator shall maintain proper records of each procedure. The records 
of the procedure must be kept for three years and must be available for inspection by 
MDH upon request. 



FINDINGS OF FACT 


1. 	 Good Times Tattoo Comoany (hereinafter "Establishment") located at 
,1innesota is licensed as a body art establishment, under license 

number 430168, effocnve June 21, 2012. Joshua Strand is the owner (hereinafter 
"Operator") of the Establishment. 

2. 	 On March 20, 2013, the Establishment was inspected by an MDH representative. The 
inspection report noted "evidence ofpracticing before licensure". Specifically, 

t (hereinafter ' T• ·- ) had provided 5 8 tattoo procedures from November 
14, 2012 to March 13, 2013 although he was not issued a temporary technician license 
until March 19, 2013. The inspection report also noted' (hereinafter 
"' ')had provided 5 tattoo procedures from October 23, 2012 to February 
10, 2013 although he was not issued a temporary technician license until March 7, 2013. 

3. 	 On August 20, 2014 at approximately 2:20pm, an MDH representative entered th~ 
Establishment in an attempt to collect the informed consent forms that 
and - had provided while unlicensed. 

4. 	 When asked to speak with the Operator, an employee of the Establishment, 
(hereinafter"' "),stated Operator was not here, however, would be back 
soon as he has an appomtn!ent with a client at 3pm. 

5. 	 It was at this time that both , (hereinafter "' --~ and 
(hereinafter' ;")were observed tattooing clients inside the 


Establishment. Both rand ' - ·' bave temporary body art 

technician licenses and both are listed under Operator's supervision. 


6. 	 Both an(! were ordered to stop tattooing immediately and 
for the clients to reschedule when Operator was on the premise. 

7. 	 called Operator several times but could not reach him. 

8. 	 The MDH representative left the Establishment at approximately2:30pm and returned at 
approximately 3pm. 

9. 	 Upon return, Operator was already inside the Establishment and waiting for the MDH 
representative. 

10. When asked why · and were allowed to tattoo without his 
supervision, Operator stated both technicians know what they are doing and have won 
numerous awards for their tattoo work. 

11. Operator also added that he was not that far from the Establishment and that he was "only 
a phone call away". I advised Operator that - , tried calling him several 
times but could not able to get a hold of him. 



12. When asked for and 's informed consent forms, Operator 
stated he no longer had them. Operator stated both technicians took their informed 
consent forms with them when they left the Establishment as the forms served as their 
portfolio. 

CONCLUSION 

1. 	 Operator failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes. section 
146B.08 subdivision 3 (5), as he allowed ,__,and r 'to provide 
body art services in his Establishment before they were issued body art technician 
licenses, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section146B.03, subdivisions 1 (a). 

2. 	 Operator failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08 subdivision 3 (5), as he allowed and , while 
under temporary licenses, to provide body art without their supervisors present, in 
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section146B.03, subdivisions 1, and section 146B.03, 
subdivision 7. Although temporary licenses were issued to' and 

, temporary licenses are only deemed valid if the tattoo procedure is 
performed in the presence of and under the supervision of a licensed technician. 

3. 	 Operator failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146.08 subdivision 3 (3), as he failed to maintain records of all body art procedures that 

occurred at the Establishment for the past three years, in violation of Minnesota statutes, 

section 146B.07 subdivision 4. When asked for _,and 

informed consent forms, Operator could not produce them. 


DETERMINATION 

1. 	 Operator is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $706, 
which deprives Operator of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

• 	 Operator may pay the $706 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 6 
months after the effective date of this action. IfOperator chooses to make 
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how 
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time 
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, 
PO Box64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days ofreceipt of this 
document. 

• 	 Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164­
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time. 

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part 
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if 
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Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.17, to 
obtain a judgment against Technician without further notice or proceedings. 


