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DEPARTMENT oF HEALTH

February 12,2015 Protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans

Gary Olson
Smokin Guns Tattoo

4
RE: MDH File Number: BAC13019

Dear Mr. Olson:

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota
Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you aided or abetted technicians in: [1] providing body
art services without a license in your establishment, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08,
subdivision 3(5), and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 (a); and [2] providing body art
services in your establishment, while under a temporary license, without any proper supervision, in
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivisions 3(5), Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03,
subdivisions 1, and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03 subdivision 7. Therefore, the Department is
issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $1,197. This action is authorized
pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4.

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please pay the
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to “Treasurer, State of Minnesota.” If you wish to appeal
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your
appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by
you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case
hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in
writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department’s decision.

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:

Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program
Minnesota Department of Health

PO Box 64882

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to
Gilbert Acevedo at (651)201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee
at (651)201-3728.

Sincerely,

N
\Qyuwﬁ N
1rector’

Darcy Miner
Health Regulation Division

Enclosure
- ce Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

A Determination In the Matter of
Smokin Guns Tattoo, Hibbing
Body Art Establishment

AUTHORITY

. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline a body art
operator for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision 2;
and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,
section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may impose include refusal
to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also
impose a civil penalty, for each violation, not exceeding $10,000, that deprives the
operator of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for
costs of the investigation.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(5), MDH may take
disciplinary actions on an operator of an establishment who has aided or abetted another
person in violating any provision of this chapter.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, effective January 1,
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician
license issued by MDH.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 7, a temporary license may
be issued if a licensed technician agrees to supervise the applicant.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.01, subdivision 28, “supervision” means
the physical presence of a technician licensed under this chapter while a body art is being
performed.

FINDINGS OF FACT

. Smokin Guns Tattoo and Body Piercing (hereinafter “Establishment”) located at
o, Minnesota was issued a body art establishment license, under
hcense number 430151 on January 25, 2012. The establishment license expired on
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September 30, 2014. Gary Olson (hereinafter “Operator™) is the sole owner/operator of
the Establishment.

Operator also operates Smokin Guns Tattoo in Grand Rapids, Minnesota.

On November 19, 2012, MDH received a complaint that there were two technicians, with
temporary licenses, at the Establishment providing body art without a supervisor present.

The complainant, . | , 1s also one of the two
technicians that was working at the Establishment with a temporary license and without
proper supervision.

On December 14, 2011, "~ was issued a temporary body art license.

On May 29, 2012, MDH received an email from" with an application
attached to it. The application advised MDH changing supervisor.
According to the application, _ new supervisor is Operator and her work
place is at the Establishment.

The other technician working at the Establishment with a temporary license but without
proper supervision is . ).

~ was issued a temporary body art license on April 6, 2012. In the
application, ’ ‘listed Operator as her supervisor and her work place is at the
Smokin Guns in Grand Rapids.

On November 8, 2012, MDH received an email from Operator. The email stated,
“Regretfully, I hereby give notice that I am closing the Hibbing location, Lic#430151 and

removmg myself as the supervisor of | e eeaeen
~as of today Nov.8, 2012. Yesterday, it has come to my attention

that I have misunderstood my role as their supervisor. Upon checking the MN Statutes,
signing affadavits for them to receive their license would be to commit perjury.”

On November 28, 2012, MDH sent "7 aletter with questions.
On January 18, 2013, MDH received a letter of response from

In the letter of response, - " stated, “I started working at Smokin Guns
Tattoo (SGT) as of June 4, 2012. The license application listed Gary Olson as the
supervising technician. However, 95% of the time, I worked out of the Hibbing SGT
with . - was the “lead artist” of the Hibbing
SGT while “operated the Grand Rapids SGT.”

Attached to ’s letter of response were informed consent forms from the
Establishment. According to the informed consent forms, ' ‘provided 24
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body art services in June 2012, 9 body art services in July 2012, 9 body art services in
August 2012, and 1 in November 2012.

On April 4, 2014, MDH sent a Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Operator.

On April 24, 2014, MDH received a letter of response from Operator.

In the letter of response, Operator stated, were in the Hibbing location
and were not properly supervised as I was not physically present.”

Operator also stated, “Both "1 were trained by me in the Grand Rapids
location with me present until I felt assured they were competent in all areas of their
duties and in accordance with state law. The purpose of training them was to work in the
Hibbing location. I did travel to the Hibbing location on several occasions to check up on
their performance, and to provide any support they required.”

CONCLUSION

Operator failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.08 subdivision 3 (5), section146B.03, subdivisions 1, and section 146B.03,

subdivision 7. Operator also allowed , while under
temporary licenses, to provide body art without a supervisor present. Although
temporary licenses were issued to - , temporary licenses

are only deemed valid if the tattoo procedure is performed in the presence of and under
the supervision of a licensed technician. Therefore, Operator aided and abetted
" by allowing them to provide body art in his

Establishment without licenses.

DETERMINATION

Operator is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $1,197,
which deprives Operator of the economic advantage gained by the violation and
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation.

e Operator may pay the $1,197 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 12
months after the effective date of this action. If Operator chooses to make
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program,
PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this
document.

e Each payment will be made by check to “State of Minnesota, Treasurer,” and
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time.



http:sectionl46B.03

The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any
other source for collection, if Technician misses a monthly payment by 14
calendar days after the established deadline. When this Order for a penalty
becomes public and MDH refers the matter to the Minnesota Department of
Revenue, the Minnesota Department of Revenue is authorized by Minnesota
Statutes, section 16D.17, to obtain a judgment against Technician without further

notice or proceedings.




