
Effective March 18, 2014 


Protecting, maintaining and improving the health ofallMinnesotans 
January 30, 2014 . 

Michael Lamont Smith 

RE: MDH File Number: BAC13073 

Dear Mr. Smith: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota 
Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you provided body art services without a license, in 
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section !46B.08, subdivisions 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 
.J46B.03, subdivisions 1. Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil 
penalty in the amount of $216. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 214.10, 
and 146B.08, subdivision 4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. Ifyou accept, please pay the 
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota." Ifyou wish to appeal 
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your 
appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received. by 
you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case 
hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing shouid be made in 
writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in 
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: 

Anne Kukowski, Acting Director of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department ofHealth 
POBox64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Anne 
Kukowski at (651)201-3839. Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at 
(651)201-3728. 

Sincerely, n 

Darcy Miner, Director
Compliance Monitoring Division 

Enclosure 

ec: Anne Kukowski, Acting Director of the Health Occupations Program 
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 


A Determination In the Matter of 

Michael L. Smith 


Body Art Technician 


AUTHORITY 


1. 	 The Minnesota Department ofHealth (MDH) has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations oflaw under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision 
2; and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3. Pursuant to Minnesota 
Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may impose 
include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section l 46B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also 
impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the licensee of any economic 
advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH for costs of the 
investigation. 

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, no individual may 
perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician license issued by MDH. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. 	 Michael L. Smith (Hereinafter "Technician"), was issued a temporary body art 
technician-tattoo license, effective January 9, 2012. Technician's temporary body art 
technician-tattoo license expired on January 9, 2013. 

2. 	 Technician's temporary body art license was renewed on April 25, 2013. Technician was 
issued a full body art license on September 27, 2013. 

3 Processing Technician's full body art license application revealed possible unlicensed 
practice from January 10, 2013 to April 24, 2013. Technician's file was referred to 
Investigation/Enforcement unit for further investigation. 

4. 	 A Notice ofIllegal Practice was sent to Technician on October 17, 2013 for unlicensed 
practice from January 10, 2013 to April 24, 2013. MDH requested a written response 
from Technician no later than November 18, 2013. 



5. 	 On November 5, 2013, MDH received a letter from Teclmician. Technician admitted to 
performing tattooing without a license on April 20, 2013. 

CONCLUSION 

1. 	 Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.03, subdivision 1 because he continued to practice body art after expiration of his 
temporary license on January 9, 2013 and before issuance ofhis renewed temporary 
license on April 25, 2013. 

DETERMINATION 

1. 	 Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $216, 
which deprives Technician ofthe economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 




