
Effective February s, 2016 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Protecting, maintaining and improving the health ofall Minnesotans 

December 28, 2015 

Kellie Sieg 
 

   

 

RE: MDH File Number: BAC16025 

Dear Ms. Sieg: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the 
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you provided body art services 
without a license, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), and 
Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 (a). Therefore, the Department is issuing 
you a reprimand and imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $343. This action is authorized 
pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please 
pay the assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota." If you 
wish to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in 
error and the grounds for your appeal. Your written statement must be received at MDH within 
30 days from the date this letter is received by you. During that 30-day period, you also have 
the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as provided under Minnesota 
Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and must include 
specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline 
outlined in the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: 

Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program 

Minnesota Department of Health 

PO Box 64882 

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 


General Information: 651-201-5000 • Toll-free: 888-345-0823 • www.health.state.mn.us 
An equal opportunity employer 

http:www.health.state.mn.us


You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it 
to Anne Kukowski at (651)201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please 
contact Chee Lee at (651)201-3728. 

Sincerely, 
-

~~i~::r~v 
Health Regulation Division 


Enclosure 


cc: Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program 



HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

A Determination In the Matter of 

Kellie Sieg 


Body Art Technician 


AUTHORITY 

1. 	

2. 	

3. 	

4. 	

5. 	

The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.08, subdivision 
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of 
discipline MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser 
action. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also 
impose, for each violation, a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the 
licensee of any economic advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH 
for costs of the investigation. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, effective January 1, 
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the indJvidual holds a valid technician 
license issued by MDH. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. 	

2. 	

3. 	

On June 16, 2014, MDH received a temporary body art technician application from Kellie 
Sieg (hereinafter "Technician"). In the application, Technician listed Golden Needle 
Tattoo (hereinafter "Establishment") in Moorhead as her place of employment. 

On June 16, 2014, MDH wrote a letter to Technician stating her application would not 
be processed until she found a licensed body artist who was not supervising two other 
artists with temporary body art licenses. 

On October 1, 2014, MDH wrote a second letter to Technician stating her application 
would not be processed until she found a licensed body artist who was not supervising 
two other artists with temporary body art licenses. The letter also noted if MDH did not 



receive a response from Technician by November 1, 2014, the application would be 
considered closed. 

4. 	

5. 	

6. 	

On October 29, 2014, MDH received a new temporary body art technician application 
from Technician. The application listed a licensed body art technician who was not 
supervising two other technicians with temporary body art licenses. 

On October 29, 2014, Technician was issued a temporary body art technician license. 

On October 29, 2015, MDH received a full body art technician license application from 
Technician. 

7. 	

8. 	

9. 	

10. 

11. 

12. 

Enclosed with the application was a list of dates, and each client's name, phone number, 
a short description ofthe tattoo provided, and the number of hours Technician provided 
body art service on the client. The list mentioned above was provided by Technician to 
show proof she had 200 supervised tattoo hours. 

A review of the list shows Technician had provided 4 body art procedures before 
October 29, 2014. 

On November 4, 2015, Technician was issued a full body art technician license; however, 
she was advised an investigation was initiated for disclosure of unlicensed practice. 

On November 2, 2015, a Notice of Illegal Practice letter was sent to Technician. The 
letter requested informed consent forms on body art procedures Technician provided 
before the issuance of his temporary body art technician license. 

On December 3, 2015, MDH received' a written response from Technician. In the 
response, Technician admitted to tattooing 4 times before the issuance of her 
temporary body art technician license. 

In the response, Technician stated, "The four occurrences of tattooing without a 
temporary body art technician license were done at the behest of my mentor and were 
purely educational. In each situation I was with my mentor the entire time, it had been 
premeditated by my mentor, me, and the volunteer. They took place after I had already 
attained the BBP certification. These sessions were used to assess the understanding 
and skill, and to further a course of my training. They were done in the Golden Needle 
Tattoo with proper equipment and procedure under the direct supervision of my 
mentor." 

13. Technician closed the response with, "At the time, I was unaware that I was violating 

protocol since the sessions were orchestrated, approved, and supervised by my 

mentor." 




14. 

15. 

16. 

Enclosed with Technician's written response are the 4 informed consent forms in which 
Technician provided body art before the issuance of her temporary license. 

The 4 informed consent forms are dated respectively: July 7, 2014; July 8, 2014; July 29, 
2014; and August 22, 2014. 

In the first temporary body art technician application in which Technician submitted on • 
June 16, 2014, it clearly states on the application, "You are NOT considered licensed 
until you receive notice of approval by MDH." 

CONCLUSION 

1. 	

1. 	

Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.03, subdivision 1. Technician performed body art services from July 7, 2014 
through August 22, 2014, but did not obtain licensure until November 4, 2014. 

DETERMINATION 

Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $343, 
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

• 	

• 	

• 	

Technician may pay the $343 civil penalty in monthly installments for up to 3 
months after the effective date of this action. If Technician chooses to make 
installments, she must notify MDH in writing about her intentions,. including how 
many installments she intends to make, in what amount, and over time period. 
Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, PO Box 
64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this document. 

Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164­
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day of each month; however, Technician may prepay at any time. 
The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part 
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Practitioner misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.17, to 
obtain a judgment against Practitioner without further notice or proceeding. 




