
Effective June 27, 2014 
 

Protecting,  maintaining and improving the health of allMinnesotans 
May 16, 2014  

Nichole Schoenfelder  .  

RE:  MDH File Number: BAC14024  

Dear Ms. Schoenfelder:  

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Detenninarion, the Minnesota  
Department of Health (MDH) has detennined that you provided body art services without a license, in 
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section  
146B.03, subdivision  I. Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand and a civil penalty in the  
amount of $195.  This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section l 46B.08, subdivision  
4.  

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal.  Ifyou accept, please pay the  
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota."  Ifyou wish to appeal 
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your  
appeal.  Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by  
you.  During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case  
hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14.  Requests for a hearing should be made in  
writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision.  

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in 
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:  

Anne Kukowski, Assistant Director of the Health Occupations Program  
Minnesota Department of Health  
POBox64882  
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882  

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint 3DXO��MN; or fax it to Anne  
Kukowski at (651)201-3839.  Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at  
(651)201-3728.  

Darcy Miner, Director  
Compliance Monitoring Division  

Enclosure  

cc:  Anne Kukowski, Assistant Director of the Health Occupations Program  

General Information: 651-201-5000  •  Toll-free: 888-345-0823  •  TTY: 651-201-5797  •  www.health.statc.mn.us  
An equal opportunity employer  



OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

A Determination In the Matter of 
Nichole Schoenfelder 
Body Art Technician 

AUTHORITY 

1. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision 
2; and Minnesota Statutes, section l 46B.08, subdivision 3. Pursuant to Minnesota 
Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may impose 
include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 

2. Pursuaot to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also 
impose, for each violation, a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the 
licensee of any economic advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH for 
costs of the investigation. 

3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

4. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, no individual may 
perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician license issued by MDH. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. Nichole Schoenfelder (Hereinafter "Technician''), was issued a full body art technician 
license, on February 2, 2011. Technician's license expired on March 31, 2012. 
Technician works at Rochester Tattoo (hereinafter "Establishment'') in Rochester, 
Minnesota. 

2. Technician's full body art technician license was renewed on March 31, 2012 with an 
expiration date of March 31, 2014. 

3. On January 6, 2014, 'MDH  sent Technician a License Renewal Notice letter. The letter 
reminded Technician her license was set to expire soon and to submit a renewal 
application by March 1, 2014 to avoid a late fee charge. 

4. On April 1, 2014, MDH sent Technician a Failure to Renew License letter. The letter 
advised Technician her license had expired and continued practice would now be 
unlicensed practice. 



5. 	 On April 24, 2014, MDH received a phone call with information that Technician was 
providing body art services with an expired license at the Establishment.  

6. 	 On April 25, 2013, MDH representative made contact with Technician at the  
Establishment.  Informed consent forms c<illected showed that Technician performed  
body art procedures at the Establishment from April  I, 2014 through April 24, 2014.  

7. 	 On April 28, 2014, Technician's body art license renewal application was submitted to  
the MDH office.  

8. 	 On April 30, 2014, Technician's full body art technician license was renewed.  

9. 	 Based on the informed consent forms collected from Technician on April 25, 2014,  
Technician performed 31  body art procedures from April I, 2014 to April 24, 2014.  

CONCLUSION  

Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section  
146B.03, subdivision 1, because she continued to practice body art after the expiration of  
her license on March 31, 2014 and before issuance of her renewed license on April 30,  
2014.  

DETERMINATION  

Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $195  
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and  
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation.  

• 	 Payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer," and mailed to  
Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, or any  
other address specified by MDH.  

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part  
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if  
Technician misses payment by 14 calendar days after the established deadline.  
When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the matter to  
MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.17, to obtain a  
judgment against Technician without further notice or proceedings.  




