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Dear Mr. Savage, 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the 
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you provided body art services 
without a body art license, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.08, subdivision 3 (3), 
and Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.03, subdivision 1 (a). MDH has also determined that you 
provided body art services in an unlicensed body art establishment, in violation of Minnesota 
Statutes, section 1468.08, subdivision 3 (3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.02, 
subdivision 4. Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil penalty 
in the amount of $477. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 
1468.08, subdivision 4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please 
pay the assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota." If you 
wish to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error 
and the grounds for your appeal. Your written statement must be received at MDH within 30 
days from the date this letter is received by you. During that 30-day period, you also have the 
right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as provided under Minnesota 
Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and must include specific 
grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline 
outlined in the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: 

Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program 

Minnesota Department of Health 

PO Box 64882 

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 


An ,:quot opportunity i:mploye, 



Keith Savage 
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February 8, 2016 


You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to 
Anne Kukowski at (651)201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please contact 
Chee Lee at (651)201-3728. 

Sincerely, 

'1:,~hyiv 
Darcy Miner, Division Director 
Health Regulation Division 

Enclosure 

Cc: Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program 



HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

A Determination In the Matter of 
Keith Edwin Savage 
Body Art Technician 

AUTHORITY 

1. 	

2. 	

3. 	

4. 	

5. 	

6. 	

1. 	

2. 	

The Minnesota Department of Health {MDH} has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1460.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline 
MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 
3. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1460.08, subdivision 4 {5}, MDH may also 
impose a civJI penalty, not exceeding $10,000, that deprives the licensee of any economic 
advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH for costs of the 
investigation. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1460.08, subdivision 3 (3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 (a), no individual may 
perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician license issued by MDH. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1460.02, subdivision 4, no person may perform 
a body art procedure at any location other than a body art establishment licensed under 
this chapter except as permitted under subdivision 8 and 9. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

On September 9, 2011, MDH received an email with informat1on that Keith Savage 
(hereinafter "Technician") was tattooing without a body art technician license and that 
the tattoo procedures were occurring at his house which did not have a body art 
establishment license. 

Effective January 1, 2011, all individuals who provide body art in Minnesota must be 
licensed by MDH. Effective January 1, 2011, all establishments providing body art in 
Minnesota must be licensed by MDH. 



3. 	

4. 	

5. 	

6. 	

7. 	

8. 	

9. 	

10. 

11. 

12. 

13. 

14. 

On September 13, 2011, MDH mailed Technician a Notice of Illegal Practice. Enclosed 
with the letter was a body art technician license application. MDH requested a response 
from Technician no later than October 13, 2011. MDH did not receive a response from 
Technician. 

On October 19, 2012, MDH mailed Technician a second Notice of Illegal Practice. MDH 
requested a response from Technician no later than November 20, 2012. MDH did not 
receive a response from Technician. 

On November 20, 2012, MDH mailed Technician the second Notice of Illegal Practice 
letter to a different address. MDH requested a response from Technician no later than 
December 20, 2012. 

On December 21, 2012, an MDH employee emailed Technician: "Mr. Savage: Attached is 
a PDF of the letter sent to you on 11/20/12. Please provide your written statement by 
January 22, 2013. Thank you for your cooperation in this matter.» 

Technician did not respond to MDH with a written response. 

On July 1, 2013, MDH mailed Technician a final Notice of Illegal Practice letter. The letter 
came back to MDH as "Return to sender,» "Not deliverable as addressed," and "Unable 
to forward". 

On December 24, 2015, MDH received a temporary body art technician license 
application from Technician. 

Due to Technician's uncooperativeness in the past, MDH has placed a "hold» on the 
license until the complaint is resolved. 

On January 6, 2016, MDH mailed Technician a Notice of Illegal Practice letter. The letter 
was also emailed to Technician. The letter requested a written response from Technician 
no later than February 8, 2016. 

On January 7, 2016, MDH received an email response from Technician. 

In the letter to Technician, MDH requested a list of all tattoo procedures Technician had 
performed after January 1, 2011. MDH also requested copies of the signed and dated 
informed consent forms. In the response, Technician admitted to providing tattoo to two 
female clients and to himself; however, he did not include copies of the informed 
consent forms. 

In the letter to Technician, MDH asked why Technician provided body art without a 
technician license. Technician responded with, "In 2011, I was excited to pursue my 
dreams of becoming a tattoo artist. Unfortunately I went about it the wrong way. I was 



unaware of the body arts regulations and laws. I purchased a tattoo machine online, and 
started tattooing myself to get an idea if this is something I want to do. After that I made 
the mistake of giving a couple friends a tattoo." 

15. 

16. 

1. 	

2. 	

1. 	

• 	

• 	

• 	

When asked why Technician provided body art in an unlicensed body art establishment, 
Technician stated, "As stated in question #2, I was unaware of the body art regulations 
and laws and didn't look into the requirements to pursue it the correct way." 

On January 27, 2016, MDH was issued a temporary body art technician license. 

CONCLUSION 

Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
1468.08, subdivisions 3 (3), because he practiced body art before he was issued a 
technician's license, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.03, subdivision l(a). 

Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
1468.08, subdivisions 3 (3), because he provided body art in an unlicensed 
establishment, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.02, subdivision 4. 

DETERMINATION 

Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $477, 
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

Technician may pay the $477 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 4 
months after the effective date of this action. If Technician chooses to make 
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how 
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time 
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, 
PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this 
document. 

Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasure," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164­
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time. 

The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part 
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.17, to 
obtain a judgment against Practitioner without further notice or proceeding. 




