
Effective March 5, 2014 


Protecting, maintainingand improving the health ofall Minnesotans 

January 30, 2014 

Christopher Owen 

RE: MDHFileNumber: BAC13071 

·.Dear Mr. Owen: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota 
Department ofHealth (MDH) has determined that you provided body art services withouta license, in 
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 
l 46B.03, subdivision I. Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil 
penalty in the amount of $252. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 214.10, 
and 146B.08, subdivision 4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. Ifyou accept, please pay the 
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State ofMinnesota." Ifyou wish to appeal 
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your 
appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days froin the date this letter is received by 
you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case 
hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in 
writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement ofyour decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in 
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days ofyour receipt of this letter, to: 

Anne Kukowski, Acting Director of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department ofHealth 
POBox64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint PaulMN; or fax it to Anne 
Kukowski at (651)201-3839. Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at 
(651)201-3728. 

Sincerely, 

Darcy Miner, t:r 
Compliance Monitoring Division 

Enclosure 

cc:. Anne Kukowski, Acting Director of the Health Occupations Program 
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 


A Determination In the Matter of 

Christopher H. Owen 

Body Art Technician 


AUTHORITY 

1. 	 The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations oflaw under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision 
2; and Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.08, subdivision 3. Pursuant to Minnesota 
StatXtes, section 1468.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may impose 
include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146%.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also 
impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the licensee of any economic 
advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146%.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.03, subdivision 1, no individual may 
perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician license issued by MDH. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

l. 	 Christopher H. Owen (Hereinafter "Technician"), was issued a temporary body art 
technician-tattoo license, effective July 5, 2012. Technician's temporary body art license 
expired on July 5, 2013. 

2. 	 On August 12, 2013, MDH received an application from Technician for a full body art 
license. The application included a log of the technician's supervised hours. A review of 
the supervised log hours showed that Technician provided tattoos during July and August 
of 2013 after his temporary license had expired. 

3. 	 A Notice of Illegal Practice was sent to Technician on October 15, 2013. MDH 
requested a written response no later than November 15, 2013. 

4. 	 On October 24, 2013, MDH received a letter from Technician. Technician originally 
thought the temporary license was. valid for two years instead ofone. Technician 
admitted to performing tattoos with no license during August of 2013. 



' 


5. 	 Although TecKQician could not provide the Informed Consent forms MDH requested, 
TecKQician stated he did provide 15 tattoos during August of2013. 

CONCLUSION 

I. 	 TecKQician failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.03, subdiYLsions 1 when he continued to practice body art even though his 
temporary license had expired July 5, 2013 . 

DETERMINATION 

I. 	 Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $252, 
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 




