
Effective July 23, 2014 


3URWHFWLQJ�PDLQtaining and improving the health ofallMinnesotans
June 12, 2014 

Gabriel Munoz 

RE: MDH File Number: BACl2051 

Dear MU. Munoz: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota 
Department ofHealth (MDH) has determined that you provided body art services without a license, in 
violation of Minnesota Statutes, sectionl46B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 
!46B.03, subdivision !(a). Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand and a civil penalty in 
the amount of$2,207. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section l46B.08, 
subdivision 4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. Ifyou accept, please pay the 
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer; State of Minnesota." Ifyou wish to appeal 
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your 
appeal, Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by 
you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case 
hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in 
writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 

: . 

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in 
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: 

Gil Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
P0Box64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Gil 
Acevedo at (651)201-3727. Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at 
(651)201-3728. 

Sincerely, 

Darcy Miner, r 
Compliance Monitoring Division 

Enclosure 

cc: Gil Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 


A Determination In the Matter of 

Gabriel Mnnoz 


Body Art Technician 


AUTHORITY 


I. 	 The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations oflaw under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline 
MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5); MDH may also 
impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the licensee of any economic 
advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH for costs of the 
investigation. 

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, effective January 1, 
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician 
license issued by MDH. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. 	 On September 6, 2011, MDH received a phone call with information that The Aloha 
Monkey (hereinafter "Establishment"), in Burnsville, had an establishment license; 
however, none of the technicians were licensed. 

2. 	 On September 8, 2011, MDH received an anonymous letter with the same complaint of 
no license technicians at the Establishment. 

3. 	 On September 20, 2011, MDH received a body art technician license application from 
Gabriel Munoz (hereinafter "Technician"). Technician listed the Establishment as bis 
place ofemployment. Technician listed January 5, 2011 as the start date at the 
Establishment. 

4. 	 Technician was not issued a license as the application was incomplete. 

5. 	 On October 3, 2011, MDH sent Technician an email advising his application was 
considered incomplete and could not be processed as he did not include, in bis 
application, a log showing 2,080 hours of tattooing in the past five years. Subdivision 10 



Minnesota Statutes 146B.03, repealed in 2012, required evidence of 2,080 hours of 
tattooing to allow an individual to be "grandfathered" in. 

4. On May 24, 2012, MDH sent Technician a 2nd Notice letter. The letter advised 
Technician his application was incomplete and required additional information from him. 
MDH requested Technician respond back with the required information no later than 
June 25, 2012. 

5. On May 30, 2012, MDH received a letter from Technician. The letter did not include 
Technician's log of 2,080 hours and was thus considered incomplete. 

6. On July 18, 2012, MDH sent Technician an email requesting his log of2,080 hours. 

7. On September 17, 2012, MDH received a temporary body art technician license 
application from Technician. 

8. On September 18, 2012, Technician was issued a temporary body art technician license. 

9. On March 4, 2014, MDH sent a Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Technician. The letter 
requested for Technician's informed consent forms since January 1, 2011. On June 11, 
2014, MDH received the informed consent forms by mail. 

10. Based on information in the informed consent forms, Technician provided 196 tattoo 
procedures before he was issued a temporary body art technician license. Technician 
provided 44 tattoos in 2011. Specifically: 2 in January, 2 in February, 2 in March, 4 in 
April, 3 in May, 2 in June, 6 in July, 3 in August, 4 in September, 1 in October, 4 in 
November, and 12 in December. Technician provided 152 tattoos from January 1, 2012 
to September 17, 2012. Specifically: 20 in January, 18 in February, 27 in March, 17 in 
April, 11 in May, 22 in June, 12 in July, 12 in August, and 13 in September. 

CONCLUSION 

1. Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), because he practiced body art at Aloha Monkey before he 
was issued a technician's license on September 18, 2012, in violation of Minnesota 
Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 (a). 

DETERMINATION 


1. Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $2,207, 
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 



• 	 Technician may pay the $2,207 civil penalty in monthly installments ofup to 20 
months after the effective date of this action. IfTechnician chooses to make 
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how 
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time 
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, 
PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this 
document. 

• 	 Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day of each month; however, Technician may prepay at any time. 

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part 
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 160.17, to 
obtain a judgment against Technician without further notice or proceedings. 




