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Effective February 15, 2015 

Protecting, maintaining and improving the health ofall Minnesotans 

January 7, 2015 

Kenneth Charles l\{att.;;on 

RE: MDH File Number: BAC12107 

Dear Mr. Mattson: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota 

Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you provided body art services without a license, in 

violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 

146B.03, subdivision 1 (a). Therefore, MDH is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil penalty in 

the amount of $721. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 146B.08, 

subdivision 4. 


You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. Ifyou accept, please pay the 

assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota." Ifyou wish to appeal 

the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your 

appeal. Your written statement must be received within 3 0 days from the date this letter is received by 

you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case 

hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in 

writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 


You must provide a written statement ofyour decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in 

the enclosed Detennination, within 30 days ofyour receipt of this letter, to: 


Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, lVIN 55164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to 

Gilbert Acevedo at ( 651)201-3 83 9. Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee 

at (651)201-3728. 


Sincerely, 
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arcy mer, Director 


Division of Health Regulation 
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 


A Determination In the Matter of 

Kenneth Charles Mattson 


Body Art Technician 


AUTHORITY 


1. 	 The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline 
MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 

2. 	

3. 	

4. 	

5. 	

1. 	

2. 	

3. 	

4. 	

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also 
impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the licensee of any economic 
advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13 .41, disciplinary actions are public data. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision l(a), no individual may 
perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician license issued by MDH. 

FINDINGS OF FACTS 

Kenneth Charles Mattson (hereinafter "Technician") was issued a temporary body art 
technician license on December 23, 2010. The temporary body art technician license 
expired on December 23, 2011. 

Technician works at Smoken Gun Tattoo (hereinafter "Establishment") in Mora, 
Minnesota. 

On January 3, 2012, MDH sent a failure to renew body art technician license letter to 
Technician. The letter reminded Technician his license had expired and in order to renew 
it, Technician would need to submit a check for $110. The letter also warns Technician, 
"Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 146B.03, it is illegal to practice or use protected titles 
after your license expires and may be grounds for discipline." 

On January 10, 2012, MDH received a full body art technician license application from 
Technician. 
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On January 18, 2012, MDH sent an email to Technician. 

The email stated the application was incomplete and listed out what was required to 
process it. The list included: the $110 application fee, signed affidavit from Technician's 
supervisor attesting that Technician completed the required 200 supervised hours of body 
art activity, and log of supervised body art activities. 

On February 15, 2012, MDH received the required $110 application fee and a signed 
affidavit from Technician's supervisor. 

MDH also received photos of Technician's body art activities. 

On March 7, 2012, MDH sent Technician an email. The email stated, "The pictures you 
submitted of pieces of work do indicate the required amount of supervised hours, 
however there are no dates to correspond to the pictures indicating when the pieces were . 
completed. Please submit documentation indicating that the work performed did occur 
during your licensure period." 

On April 9, 2012, MDH received a complaint that Technician provided an unlicensed 
tattoo procedure. 

On April 19, 2012, MDH received updated photos of Technician's body art activities. 
The photos included the date of the procedure and the number of hours Technician 
performed on it. 

On May 3, 2012, Technician was issued a full body art technician license. 

On May 7, 2012, MDH sent a Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Technician. The letter 
requested for copies of Technician's informed consent forms from December 24, 2011 to 
May 2, 2012. 

On June 12, 2012, MDH received a written response from Technician. Enclosed with the 
response were copies of Technician's informed consent forms. 

A review of the informed consent forms show Technician provided 28 unlicensed tattoo 
services. Specifically, Technician provided: 4 tattoo services in December 2011, 7 tattoo 
services in January 2012, 5 tattoo services in February 2012, 6 tattoo services in March 
2012, 5 tattoo services in April 2012, and 1 tattoo service in May 2012. 

CONCLUSION 

Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.03, subdivision 1 (a), because he continued to practice body art after the expiration 
ofhis temporary body art technician license on December 24, 2011 and before the 
issuance of his full body art technician license on May 3, 2014. 



DETERMINATION 


1. 	

• 	

• 	

• 	

Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $721, 
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

Technician may pay the $721 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 7 
months after the effective date of this action. IfTechnician chooses to make 
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how 
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time 
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, 
PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days ofreceipt of this 
document. 
Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164­
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time. 
The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any 
other source for collection, if Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 
calendar days after the established deadline. When this Order for a penalty 
becomes public and MDH refers the matter to the Minnesota Department of 
Revenue, the Minnesota Department of Revenue is authorized by Minnesota 
Statutes, section 16D. l 7, to obtain a judgment against Technician without further 
notice or proceedings. 




