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April 13, 2017

Terrence Ivory

RE: MDH File Number BAC14017
Dear Terrence lvory,

The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has received your email regarding Disciplinary
Determination, which became effective November 17, 2014. In your email, you requested an
unconditional body art technician license. This letter confirms you have met the conditions of
the November 17, 2014 Determination. Therefore, the condition on your body art technician
license is hereby removed.

Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. If you have any questions, | may be reached at
(651) 201-3728.

Sincerely,

Chee Lee

Health Care Program Investigator
Health Occupations Program
Health Regulation Division

PO Box 64882

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882

An equal opportunity employer




Effective November 17, 2014

DEPARTMENT of HEALTH

Protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans

October 10, 2014

~ Terrence Ivory

RE: MDH File Number: BAC14017 .

Dear Mr. Ivory:

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota
Department of Health (MDH) have determined that you: [1] provided body art services to a minor, in
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), and Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.07, subdivision 2 (b); [2] failed to obtain from the client a signed and dated informed consent
form, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesota
Statutes, section 146B.07 subdivision 3; [3] provided body art services without establishing
proof of age, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivisions 3 (3) and
Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07 subdivision 1. Therefore, MDH is issuing you a reprimand,
imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $167, and issuing you a conditional technician license. This
action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4.

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please pay the
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to “Treasurer, State of Minnesota.” If you wish to appeal
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your
appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by
you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case
hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in
writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department’s decision.

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:

Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupatlons Program
Minnesota Department of Health

PO Box 64882

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to
Gilbert Acevedo at (651)201-3727. If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee

at (65 1)201-3728. w

cerel /
M M’\f/ 4
Darcy Miner, Director . - -
Complxance Monitoring Division

Enclosure
cc: - Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupatlons Program

General Information: (651) 201-5000 ® TDD/TYY: (651) 201-5797 ® Minnesota Relay Service: (800) 627-3529 ® www.health.state.mn.us
For directions to anv of the MDH locations, call (651) 201-5000 ® An equal opportunity employer



HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

A Determination In the Matter of
Terrence Ivory
Body Art Technician

AUTHORITY

. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art
technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision -
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline
MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also
impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the licensee of any economic
advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH for costs of the

investigation.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, séction 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision 1(a), a technician shall
require proof of age before performing any body art procedure on a client. Proof of age
must be established by one of the following: [1] valid driver’s license or identification
card issued by state of Minnesota or another state that includes a photograph and date of
birth; [2] valid military identification card issued by United States Department of
Defense; [3] valid passport; [4] resident alien card; [5] tribal identification card.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision 2 (b), no technician shall
tattoo any individual under the age of 18 regardless of parental or guardian consent.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision 3, before performing a

- body art procedure, the technician shall obtain from the client a signed and dated
informed consent form. The consent form must disclose that a tattoo is considered
permanent and may only be removed with a surgical procedure and that any effective
removal may leave scarring.

FINDINGS OF FACT

. Terrence Ivory (hereinafter “Technician™) was issued a full body art technician license on
May 24, 2013. ' '



10.

11.

12.

Technician worked at | (hereinafter © - ) from January 20 13 to
December 2013.

On December 9, 2013, MDH received an email from an employee of the Establishment,

. (hereinafter * ). The email advised MDH that
Technician had recently tattooed a minor inside the Establishment and was therefore
terminated on site.

On March 26, 2014, A Notice of Illegal Practice letter was sent to Technician. MDH
requested a response from Technician no later than April 28, 2014. On April 9, 2014, the
letter was returned to MDH as Technician moved and did not leave a forwarding address.

On March 26,2014, MDH sent a letter with questions to the owner of the
¢ (hereinafter ”). MDH requested a written response from th

Operator no later than April 28, 2014, '

On April 4, 2014, a written response was hand delivered to MDH. The written response

was not from the Operator but instead from

In the written response, states Technician tattooed the minor inside the
Establishment sometime in December 2013 during regular business hours. When asked
to stop, Technician refused to do so. _states “Ivory refused to stop the

procedure. We had to unplug his station”.

On June 13, 2014, MDH sent a Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Technician new mailing
address. MDH requested a written response from Technician no later than July 14, 2014.

A written response by Technician was received in June 2014.

In the written response, Technician admitted he tattooed his 17 year old cousin in
November or December 2013. Technician stated “During the tattoo it came to light that

he was 17.”

Technician stated he thought his cousin was of legal age and therefore did not ask for
proper identification. Technician stated, “I told him to figure out what he wanted and
wait till he was 18, at that time he was 17. I assumed he was 18, being that months later,

probably 5 months later, he was coming to me for his tattoo.”

When asked for the informed consent form for his 17 year old couéin, Technician stated
“No paperwork or consent forms for either him or his two siblings were filled out by

2

me.




CONCLUSION

1. Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), because he practiced body art without establishing proof of
client’s age, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision 1(a).

2. Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), because he tattooed a minor, in violation of Minnesota
Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision 2 (b).

3. Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), because he did not have the client sign and date an informed
consent form the day of the tattoo service, in violation of Minnesota Statues, section
146B.07, subdivision 3. -

DETERMINATION

1.. Technician will be issued a conditional body art technician license, with the following
conditions: :
e Technician will comply with all requirements of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter
146B; _
e The license will be conditional for a period of not less than two years;
e Technician will not be allowed to supervise temporary body art technicians;
o A supervisor is expected to be knowledgeable about safe body art
procedures and the state statutes that govern the practice of body art.
MDH has determined that Technician violated provisions of body art
chapter and that Technician demonstrated a careless disregard for the
health, welfare, or safety of a client. Therefore, Technician may not
supervise temporary technicians and MDH will deny all applicants that list
Technician as a supervisor for two years. '
e After aperiod of not less than two years, Technician may request the conditional
status be removed from his license. To do so, Technician must:
o Submit a written response for removal of the condition to the Director of
the Health Occupations Program, Minnesota Department of Health, PO
Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882;

2. Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $167,
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and-
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation.

e Technician may pay the $167 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 2
months after the effective date of this action. If Technician chooses to make
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program,



PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this
document. |

Each payment will be made by check to “State of Minnesota, Treasure,” and
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time..

The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established
deadline.- When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.17, to
obtain a judgment against Technician without further notice or proceedings.






