
Effective 3-26 ... 15 


Protecting, maintaining and improving the health ofallMinnesotans 
February 20, 2015 . . · 

Andy Vidovic 

RE: MDH File Number: BAC15034 

Dear Mr. Vidovic: 

. Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the 
Minnesota Department of Health (MD H) has determined that you aided or abetted technician in 
providing body art services without a license in your establishment, in violation of Minnesota 
Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (5), and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, 
subdivisi~n 1 (a). MDH has also determined that, as the operator of a body art establishment, 
you failed to maintain proper records for each body art procedure, in violation of Minnesota 
Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivision 3 (3) and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07 subdivision 
4. Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil penalty in the 

amount of $1487. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, 

subdivision 4. 


You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. Ifyou accept, please 
· pay the assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota." If you 
wish to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error 
and the grounds for your appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from 
the date this letter is received by you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to 
challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, 
Chapter 14, Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and must include specific grounds 
for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline 
outlined in the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: 

Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

General Information: 651-201-5000 • Toll-free: 888-345-0823 • www.health.state.mn.us 
A,,, n1wt! n1111ortunitv emp/.oyer 
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You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it 
to Gilbert Acevedo at (651) 201-3839. Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please 
contact Chee Lee at (651) 201-3728. 

Sincerely, 

~~~(/ 
Darcy Miner, Director 

Health Regulation Division 


Enclosure 

cc: Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 



HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 


A Determination In the Matter of 

Inkwell Tattoo 

Hibbing, MN 


Body Art Establishment 


AUTHORITY 


1. 	 The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline a body art 
operator for violations oflaw under Minnesota Statutes; section 146B.08, subdivision 3. 
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline 
MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also 
impose a civil penalty, for each violation, not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the 
operator of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for 
costs of the investigation. 

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data. 

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(5), MDH may take 
disciplinary actions on an operator of an establishment who has aided or abetted another 
person in violating any provision of this chapter. 

5. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, effective January 1, 
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician 
license issued by MDH. 

6. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivision 3(3), MDH may take any of 
the disciplinary actions on an operator of an establishment who has violated any 
provision of this chapter. 

7. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07 subdivision 4, for each client, the body 
art establishment operator shall maintain proper records of each procedure. The records 
of the procedure must be kept for three years and must be available for inspection by 
MDHupon request. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. 	 Inkwell Tattoo (hereinafter "Establishment") located at 
. Minnesota is licensed as a body art establishment, under license number 430129, 



effective March 30, 2011. Andy Vidovic is the owner (hereinafter "Operator") of the 
Establishment. 

2. 	 _ ) was issued a temporary body art technician license 
on July 30, 2012. The temporary license expired on July 30, 2013. 

3. 	 Technician worked at Establishment from July 2012 to mid-November 2013. 

4. 	 MDH received a full body art technician license application from Technician on 
September 20, 2013. Technician was issued a full license on November 4, 2013. 

5. 	 Te·chnician's application was referred to Investigation & Enforcement for possible 
unlicensed body art practice from July 31; 2013 to November 3, 2013. 

6. 	 On November 12, 2013, MDH received a phone call from a complainant who stated 
Technician had tattooed her 14 year old daughter's hand at the Establishment on October 
31, 2013. Complainant was advised to fill a complaint form. 

7. 	 On November 14, 2013, MDH received a signed complaint that Technician had tattooed 
a 14 year old at the Establishment on October 31, 2013. 

8. 	 On November 22, 2013, an MDH representative made a visit to Hibbing, Minnesota and 
made contact with Operator. Operator stated he has been ill and the illness has caused 
him to travel frequently to Rochester Mayo Clinic for treatment. Operator stated he has 
not been able to oversee the daily operations of the Establishment. Therefore, he gave· 
Technician the keys to the Establishment and Technician was allowed to operate the shop 
while Operator was away. 

9. 	 Operator stated Technician was providing tattoos at the Establishment during the months 
of July 2013 to November 2013. When asked for Technician's informed consent forms 
during that time period, Operator stated Technician had taken them with him when he 
resigned from the Establishment. 

10: On January 14, 2014, MDH sent a letter with questions to Operator. On February 3, 
2014, MDH received .a letter of response from Operator. In the letter, Operator stated he 
did observe Technician provide tattoos at the Establishment during the months in which 

· Technician's temporary license had expired. 

11. On January 14, 2014, MDH sent a letter with questions to· 	 . 
_ On February 

3, 2014, MDHreceived a letter ofresponse from. :. lii the letter, stated she did 
observe Technician provide tattoos at the Establishment during the nionths in which 
Technician's temporary license had expired. 

12. 	In the letter ofresponse, . also stated Technician tattooed her fingers on October 31, 
2013 and that it occurred at the Establishment. 



CONCLUSION 

1. 	 Operator failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08 subdivision 3 (5), as he allowed Technician to provide body art services in his 
Establishment with an expired temporary license, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, 
section146B.03, subdivisions 1 (a). 

2. 	 Operator failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146.08 subdivision 3 (3), as he failed to maintain records of all body art procedures that 
occurred at the Establishment for the past three years, in violation of Minnesota statutes, 
section 146B.07 subdivision 4. When asked for Technician's informed consent forms, 
Operator could not produce them. 

DETERMINATION 

1. 	 Operator is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $1487, 
which deprives Operator of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

• 	 Operator may pay the $1487 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 12 
months after the effective date of this action. IfOperator chooses to make 
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how 
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time 
period. Operator must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, PO 
Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days ofreceipt of this 
document. 

• 	 Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, :MN 55164­
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day of each month; however; technician may prepay at any time. 

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Department of Revenue (MDR), or 
any other source for collection, if Operator misses a monthly payment by 14. 
calendar days after the established deadline. When this Order for a penalty 
becomes public and MDH refers the matter to MDR, MbR is authorized by 
Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.l 7, to obtain a judgment against Technician 
without further notice or proceedings. 

http:section146B.03

