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Minnesota Effective September 24, 2016 
Department 

ofHealth 
PROTECTING, MAINTAINING & IMPROVING THE HEALTH OF All MINNESOTANS 

August 24, 2016 

Jamie Houts 
Get To The Point Tattoos 
3609 White Bear Avenue North 
White B.ear Lake, MN 55110 

RE: MDH File Number: BAC15049 

Dear Ms. Houts: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the 
Minnesota Department of Health {MDH) has determined that you: [1] provided body art 
without a body art technician license, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, 
subdivision 3 {3) and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 {a); [2] represented 
yourself as a body art technician by advertising tattoo services despite not being licensed as a 
body art technician in the state of Minnesota, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivision 3 {3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 2 {a); and [2] 
advertised·in a manner that is false or misleading, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivision 3(8). Therefore, MDH is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil 
penalty in the amount of $765. This is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivision 4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please 
pay the assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer." If you 
wish to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in 
error and the grounds for your appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days 
from the date this letter is received by you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right 
to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, 
Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and must include specific 
grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline 
outlined in the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: 

Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program 

Minnesota Department of Health 

PO Box 64882 

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 


An equal opportunity employer 
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You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it 
to Anne Kukowski at (651) 201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please 

contact Chee Lee at (651) 201-3728. 

Sincerely, 

k~ 
Susan Winkelmann, Assistant Director 
Division of Health Regulation 

Enclosure 
cc: Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program 



HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

A Determination In the Matter of 

Jamie Houts 


Body Art Technician 


AUTHORITY 

1. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.03, subdivision 1 (a), effective January 1, 
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician 

license issued by MDH. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 2 (a), no individual may 
use the title of "tattooist," "tattoo artist," "tattoo technician," "body art practitioner," 
"body art technician," or other words, letters, or titles in connection with that 
individual's name which in any way represents that the individual is engaged in the 
practice of tattooing or authorized to do so, unless the individual is licensed and 
authorized to perform tattooing. 

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1466.08, subdivision 3 (8), the commissioner 
may take disciplinary action on proof that a technician advertised in a manner that is 
false or misleading. 

5. 	 The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH} has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of 
discipline MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser 

action. 

6. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4 (5), MDH may also 
impose, for each violation, a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the 
licensee of any economic advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH 
for costs of the investigation. 

7. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data. 



FINDINGS OF FACT 


1. 	 On May 20, 2015, MDH received an email with information that Jamie Houts 
(hereinafter "Technician") was tattooing without a body art technician license. Enclosed 
in the email were links to Technician's Facebook page, WIX site, and artist profile from 
inkedmag.com. 

2. 	 On May 20, 2015, MDH staff reviewed Technician's profile in inked mag.com. In her 
profile, Technician stated she first started tattooing in 2012 and that she started her 
apprenticeship in Minnesota. Technician also stated "When it comes to tattooing I 
don't have a particular style. I love doing all of it. I think that in tattooing you are 
creating something special for that person and it needs to be in a style that fits them 
and their personality. You can see my profile at 
www.facebook.com/bluhalltattooartist." 

3. 	 On May 20, 2015, MDH staff reviewed Technician's Facebook page and the following 
were observed: 

a. 	 Technician advertised her tattoo services on a regular basis. The following post 
was observed several times throughout Technician's Facebook page: "Art is my 
passion and the more work I do in tattooing the more I love it. I get to create art 
and make something special for someone that has a deep meaning to them. It is 
my goal to provide comfortable environment while creating, personalized, one 
of a kind works of body art. Iwant my clients to feels confident that their body 
art will be the mark of pride and badge of honor is it meant to be." 

b. 	 Technician advertised a Halloween special. The advertisement, time stamped as 
October 7, 2014, stated, "SALE! For the whole month of October anyone who 
gets or starts a Halloween or Dia de Muertos (day of the dead} theme tattoo gets 
25% OFF. Examples: skulls, sugar skulls, witches, pumpkins, zombies, grave 
yards, crypts, sarcophagus, vampires, demons, etc ..." 

c. 	 Technician posted pictures of tattoo procedures she provided. Examples 
include: 

i. 	 A picture of a tattoo of two skulls and four roses, time stamped as 
November 9, 2014, with the caption, "How do you like this skulls and 
roses I did today?" 

ii. 	 A picture of a Vajra cross, time stamped as January 19, 2015, with the 
caption, "Just finished this Crossed Vajra tattoo." 

4. 	 On May 20, 2015, MDH staff reviewed Technician's Wix page and observed her mission 
statement as follows: "It is my goal to provide comfortable environment while creating, 

www.facebook.com/bluhalltattooartist
http:inkedmag.com


personalized, one of a kind works of body art. I want my clients to feels confident that 
their body art will be the mark of pride and badge of honor it is meant to be." 

5. 	 Underneath the mission statement are two links. One link is to navigate towards her 
inkedmag.com profile. The other link is to set an appointment for a body art procedure. 

6. 	 On May 20, 2015, MDH staff sent Technician a message through the appointment 
screen from her Wix page. The message informed Technician she was not licensed as a 
body art technician in Minnesota and for her to cease her body art activities. 

7. 	 Technician ignored the message sent from MDH staff and continued posting pictures of 
her tattoo work and advertisements mentioned in Findings of Fact #3 (a). 

8. 	 On December 21, 2015, MDH received a temporary body art technician license 
application from Technician. 

9. 	 On January 8, 2016, Technician was issued a temporary body art technician license. 

10. On May 4, 2016, MDH sent Technician a Notice of Illegal Practice letter. MDH requested 
a response from Technician no later than June 6, 2016. MDH did not receive a response 
from Technician. 

11. On June 13, 2016, MDH sent Technician a final Notice of Illegal Practice letter. MDH 
requested a response from Technician no later than July 1, 2016. 

12. On June 29, 2016, MDH received a letter of response from Technician. In the letter, 
Technician admitted to tattooing without a body art technician license. 

CONCLUSION 

1. 	 Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivisions 3 (3), because she practiced body art before she was issued a 
technician's license, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 
(a). 

2. 	 Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), because she advertised her tattoo services in social media 
pages when she was not authorized to offer such services. Therefore, Technician misled 
the public with false advertisements and is in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.03, subdivision 2 (a) and section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (8). 

http:inkedmag.com


DETERMINATION 

1. 	 Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $765, 
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

• 	 Technician may pay the $785 civil penalty in monthly installments for up to 
seven months after the effective date of this action. If Technician chooses to 
make installments, she must notify MDH in writing about her intentions, 
including how many installments she intends to make, in what amount, and over 
time period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations 
Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of 

this document. 
• 	 Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer," and 

mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164­
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day of each month; however, Technician may prepay at any time. 

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part 
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Practitioner misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 

deadline. 




