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Protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans

September 30, 2011

Ms. Megan Lynn Hoogland

RE: MDH File Number: BAC12045

Dear Ms. Hoogland:

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you individually and as owner and
operator of Mecca Tattoo, allowed an individual to perform body art procedures without a license
issued under the body art statute, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, sections 146B.05,
subdivision 1(6), and 146B.08, subdivision 3(5). Therefore, the Department is issuing you a
reprimand and assessing a civil penalty in the amount of $75. This action is authorized pursuant
to Minnesota Statutes, sections 214.10, and 146B.08, subdivision 4.

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please pay
the assessed civil penalty by check made payable to “Treasurer, State of Minnesota™. If you wish
to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and
your grounds for your appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the
date this letter is received by you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge
this decision in a contested-case hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14.
Requests for a hearing should also be made in writing and include specific grounds for
challenging the Department’s decision.

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline
outlined in the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:

Tom Hiendlmayr, Director of the Health Occupations Program
Minnesota Department of Health

PO Box 64882

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882

Y ou may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it
to Mr. HiendImayr at (651)201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please contact
Kyle Reneil at (651)201-3727.

Sincerely,

\Jd W d
Darcy Miner, Director
Compliance Monitoring Division

Enclosure
ce: Tom chndlmayr, Director of the Health Occupations Program
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

A Determination In the Matter of
Megan Lynn Hoogland
Body Art Technician,
Individually and as Owner of
Mecca Tattoo
Body Art Establishment

AUTHORITY

. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art
technicians and establishments for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section
214.131, subdivision 2, and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3. The
types of discipline MDH may impose include imposition of a civil penalty not to exceed
$10,000 for each violation that deprives the licensee of any economic advantage gained
by the violation and that reimburses the department for costs of the investigation.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivisions | and 2, no individual may
perform body art services unless the individual holds a valid license issued by MDH.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.05, subdivision 1(6), the owner or operator
of a licensed establishment may be ordered by the commissioner to discontinue all
operations of the licensed body art establishment or the commissioner may refuse to grant
or renew, suspend, or revoke license upon evidence of any individual performing a body
art procedure without a license as required by statute.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(5), MDH may take
disciplinary action on proof that a technician or an operator of an establishment has aided
or abetted another person in violating any provision of the statute,

FINDINGS OF FACT

. Megan Lynn Hoogland (Hereinafter “Technician™), was licensed as a body art technician
on January 24, 2011. Mecca Tattoo (Hereinafter “Establishment™), owned and operated
by Technician, was licensed on January 10, 201 1.

. On September 14, 2011, information was received that an individual identified as “John
Dickinson” was providing body art services at Establishment. A check of the MDH -
database revealed “John Dickinson™ was not licensed as a body art technician in the State

of Minnesota.




. In response to an MDH query, Technician admitted she allowed “John Dickinson” to
provide services in Establishment prior licensure. Technician explained that she did so
because “John Dickinson” was licensed by the State of South Dakota and had submitted
an application for licensure in the State of Minnesota.

CONCLUSION

. Technician, as owner and operator of Establishment, did not comply with the
requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.05, subdivision 1(6), because she
allowed an individual to perform a body art procedure without being licensed as required
by statute.

. Technician aided or abetted another person in violating the body art statute, in violation
of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(5), which is a ground for
disciplinary action.

DETERMINATION

. Technician, individually and as owner and operator of Establishment, is hereby
reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $75, to reimburse MDH for
investigative costs. :






