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Ml1'1NESOTA 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

-----

Effective 11-03-14 

Protecting, maintaining and improving the health ofallMinnesotans 

September 17, 2014 

Matthew G. Garcia 

RE: MDH File Number: BAC14041 

Dear Mr. Garcia: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota 

Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you provided body art services, while under a 

temporary license, without any proper supervision, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, sectio;n 

146B.08, subdivisions 3(3), Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivisions l(a) and 

Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.03 subdivision 7. Therefore, MDH is issuing you a reprimand and 

imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $206. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, 

sections 146B.08, subdivision 4. 


You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. Ifyou accept, please pay the 

assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota." Ifyou wish to appeal 

the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your 

appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by 

you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case 

hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in 

writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 


You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in 

the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: 


Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164~0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to 
Gilbert Acevedo at (651)201-3727. Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee 
at (651)201-3728. 

Sincerely, /;1,. '" ~ 
1

~~fr:c'j4U'., tJ 
Comp~tanceMonitoring Division 


Enclosure 

cc: Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MiNNESOTADEPARTMENTOFHEALTH 


A Determination In the Matter of 

Matthew G. Garcia 


Body Art Technician 


AUTHORITY 


1. 	 The Minnesota Department of Health (MD H) has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations oflaw under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline 
MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also 
impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the licensee of any economic 
advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivisions 1, effective January 1, 
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician 
license issued by MDH. · 

5. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 7, a temporary license may 
be issued if a licensed technician agrees to supervise the applicant. 

6. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.01, subdivision 28, "supervision" means 
the physical presence of a technician licensed under this chapter while a body art is being 
performed. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. 	 Matthew G. Garcia (Hereinafter "Technician"), was issued a temporary body art 
technician-tattoo license on July 18, 2012. Technician's temporary body art technician 
license expired on July 18, 2013. 

2. 	 Technician's temporary body art technician license was renewed on August 29, 2013. 
Technician's temporary body art technician license expired on August 29, 2014. 

3. 	 In the temporary body art technician license application, Technician listed Joshua Strand 
(Hereinafter "Technician JS") as his supervisor and Good Times Tattoo (Hereinafter 
"Establishment") in Oak Park Heights as the work place. 



4. 	 On August 20, 2014, at approximately 2:20pm, an MDH representative visited the 
Establishment. 

5. 	 Technician was seen providing tattoo services to a client. 

6. 	 Technician JS was not in the Establishment when Technician was providing tattoo 
services. An employee of the Establishment made several phone calls in an attempt to 
contact Technician JS; however, Technician JS did not answer his phone. 

7. 	 On August 27, 2014, Technician was issued a full body art technician-tattoo license. 

CONCLUSION 

1. 	 Technician failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.03, subdivisions 1, and section 146B.03, subdivision 7. A temporary license was 
issued to the Technician; however, a temporary license is only deemed valid if the tattoo 
procedure is performed in the presence of and under the supervision of a licensed 
technician. Technician provided tattoo services on August 20, 2014 outside the physical 
presence of his supervisor of record. 

DETERMINATION 

1. 	 Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $206, 
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

• 	 Technician may pay the $206 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 2 
months after the effective date of this action. IfTechnician chooses to make 
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how 
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time 
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, 
PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this 
document. 

• 	 Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164­
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time. 

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part 
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other sou~ce for collection, if 
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.17, to 
obtain a judgment against Technician without further notice or proceedings. 




