
Effective May 24, 2014 ' 

Protecting,  maintaining and improving the health of  all Minnesotans 
April  17, 2014  

Kenneth Robert Ford III  

RE:  MDH File Number: BAC12049  

Dear Mr.  Ford III:  

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota  
Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you  provided body art services without a license, in  
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section  
l 46B.03, subdivision 1 (a).  Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand and a civil penalty in  
the amount of $731.  This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section l 46B.08,  
subdivision 4.  

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal.  If you accept, please pay the  
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota."  If you wish to appeal  
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your  
appeal.  Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by  
you,  During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case  
hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14.  Requests for a hearing should be made in  
writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision.  

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in  
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:  

Anne Kukowski, Acting Director of the Health Occupations Program  
Minnesota Department of Health  
PO Box64882  
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882  

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax itto Anne  
Kukowski at (651)201-3839.  If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at  
(651)201-3728.  

Darcy Miner, Director  
Compl.iance Monitoring Division  

Enclosuresure  

cc:  Anne Kukowski, Acting Director of the Health Occupations Program  
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An equal opportunity employer  



.    

HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM  
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH  

A Determination In the Matter of  
Kenneth Robert Ford III  

Body Art Technician  

AUTHORITY  

1. 	 The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art  
technicians for violations oflaw under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision  
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline  
MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action.  

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also  
impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the licensee of any economic  
advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH for costs of the  
investigation.  

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any  
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action.  

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, no individual may  
perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician license issued by MDH.  

FINDINGS OF FACT  

1. 	 On September 21, 2011, MDH received a full body art technician license application  
from Kenneth Ford III (hereinafter "Technician").  

2. 	 Technician was not issued a license as the application was incomplete.  

3. 	 On October 3, 2011, MDH sent an email advising Technician that his application was  
considered incomplete and could not be processed as he did not include, in his  
application, a log showing 2,080 hours of tattooing in the past five years.  Subdivision 10  
of Minnesota Statutes 146B.03, repealed in 2012, required evidence of 2,080 hours of  
tattooing to allow an individual to be "grandfathered" in.  

4. 	 On May 24, 2012, MDH sent a second notice to Technician advising him of his  
incomplete application.  

5. 	 On June 1, 2012, Technician faxed to MDH the necessary documents to process the  
application.  

6. 	 On July 5, 2012, Technician was issued a full body art technician license.  



7. 	 Technician's file was referred to the Investigation   Enforcement Unit because he listed  
his start date at Aloha Monkey Tattoo as May 2011  in the license application.  

8. 	 On February 25, 2014, MDH sent.a Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Technician.  MDH  
requested Technician's informed consent forms from January 1, 2011  to July 4, 2012.  

9. 	 On April 8, 2013, MDH received a letter from Technician and copies of his informed  
consent forms.  Technician admitted to providing body art at Aloha Monkey from  
January 2012 to July 2012 without a technician license.  

10. Based on information in the informed consent forms, Technician provided 120 tattoo  
procedures before he was issued a technician license.  Technician performed 7 tattoo  
services in January 2012, 20 tattoo services in February 2012, 24 tattoo services in March  
2012, 30 tattoo services in April 2012, 15 tattoo services in May 2012, 20 tattoo services  
in June 2012, and 4 tattoo services in July 2012.  

CONCLUSION  

1. 	 Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section  
146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), because he practiced body art at Aloha Monkey before he  
was issued a technician's license on January 5, 2012, in violation of Minnesota Statutes,  
section 146B.03, subdivision 1 (a).  

DETERMINATION  

1. 	 Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $731,  
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and  
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation.  

• 	 Technician may pay the $731 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 6  
months after the effective date of this action.  If Technician chooses to make  
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how  
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time  
period.  Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program,  
PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this  
document.  

• 	 Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer," and  
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164- 
0882, or any other address specified by MDH.  Each payment is due by the last  
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time.  

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part  
of the Minnesota Departinent of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if  
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established  
deadline.  When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the  
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section l 6D.l 7, to  
obtain a judgment against Technician without further notice or proceedings.  




