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Effective April  11,2014  

March  IO, 2014  
  

Maureen Elliot  

RE:  MOH File Number: BACll028  

Dear Ms. Elliot:  

Based on the facts and law in this matter.as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota  
Department of Health (MOH) has determined that you provided body art services without a license, in  
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section  
l 46B.03, subdivision  I.  Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil  
penalty in the amount of $715.  This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section l 46B.08;  
subdivision 4.  

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal.  If you accept, please pay the  
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota."  If you wish to appeal  
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your  
appeal.  Your written statement must be received at MOH within 30 days from the date this letter is  
received by you.  During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a  
contested-case hearing. as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14.  Requests for a hearing should  
be .  made in writing and must include specific .  grounds for challenging the Department's decision.  

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in  
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:  

Anne Kukowski, Acting Director of the Health Occupations Program ' 
Minnesota Department of Health ' 
PO Box 64882 ' 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 ' 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Anne  
Kukowski at (651)201-3839.  If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at  
(651)20l-3728.  

Sincerely,  

Darcy Miner, Director  
Compliance Monitoring Division  

Enclosure  

cc: .  . Anne Kukowski, Acting Director of the Health Occupations Program  
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM  
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH  

A Determination In the Matter of  
Manreen Elliot  

Body Art Technician  

AUTHORITY  

l. 	 Tue Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) bas authority to discipline body art  
technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.13 l, subdivision  
2; and Minnesota Statutes, section l 46B.08, subdivision 3. Pursuant to Minnesota  
Statutes, section 1468.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may impose  
include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action.  

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also  
impose a civil penalty, for each violation, not exceeding $ 10,000, that deprives the  
licensee of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for  
costs of the investigation.  

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any  
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action.  

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, effective January .1.  
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician  
license issued by MOH.  

FINDINGS OF FACT  

l. 	 On February 25, 2011, MOH received information that Maureen Elliot (Hereinafter  
"Technician'') Zas providing tattoo services at Tough Love Studios in Minneapolis,  
Minnesota, without a body art license.  

2. 	 On March 15, 201 l, a Notice of Illegal Practice was sent to Technician.  

3. 	 On May 2, 201 l, MOH received a body art license application from Technician.  

4. 	 Technician was issued a temporary body art technician license effective June 30, 2011.  

5. 	 Technician was issued a full body art technician tattoo license effective June 21, 2012.  



6. 	 On February 3, 2014, MDH sent a letter to Technician requesting Technician's Informed 
Consent forms from January 1, 2011 to June 29, 2011. MDH received the forms on 
February 27, 2014. 

7. 	 Based on information from the Informed Consent forms Technician provided to MDH, 
Technician provided a total of26 tattoo procedures from January 2011 to June 2011. 
Technician performed 3 tattoo services throughout January 2011, 3 tattoo services 
throughout February2011, 4 tattoo services throughout March 2011, 5 tattoo services 
throughout April 2011, 4 tattoo services throughout May 2011, and 7 tattoo services 
throughout June 2011. 

CONCLUSION 

1. 	 Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
l 46B.03, subdivision l. Technician performed body art services between January 1, 
2011, and June 29, 2011, but did not obtain licensureuntil June 30, 2011. 

DETERMINATION 

l. 	 Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of$715, 
which deprives Technician ofthe economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 




