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Protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans

September 17, 2014

Pamela Dougall

RE:  MDH File Number: BAC12039
Dear Ms. Dougall:

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota
Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you provided body art services without a license, in
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.03, subdivision 1 (a). Therefore, MDH is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil penalty in
the amount of $425. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 146B.08,
subdivision 4.

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please pay the
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to “Treasurer, State of Minnesota.” If you wish to appeal
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your
appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date you received this letter.
During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing,
as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and
must include specific grounds for challenging the Department’s decision.

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:

Gil Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program
Minnesota Department of Health

PO Box 64882

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Gil
Acevedo at (651)201-3727. If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at
(651)201-3728.

Sincerely, M c (/
Darcy Miner, iDlrec‘cor
Compliance Monitoring Division

Enclosure
cc: Gil Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program

General Information: (651) 201-5000 ® TDD/TYY: (651) 201-5797 ® Minnesota Relay Service: (800) 627-3529 ® www.health.state.mn.us
For directions to any of the MDH locations, call (651) 201-5000 ® An equal opportunity employer
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

A Determination In the Matter of

Pamela Dougall
Body Art Technician

AUTHORITY

1. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline a body art

operator for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision 2;
and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,
section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may impose include refusal
to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also
impose a civil penalty, for each violation, not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the
operator of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for
costs of the investigation.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, effective January 1,
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician
license issued by MDH.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action.

FINDINGS OF FACT

. On September 6, 2011, MDH received information that Pamela Dougall (hereafter
“Technician™) was providing body art services, specifically permanent makeup, without a
body art technician license.

. On September 8, 2011, MDH sent a Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Technician.
Enclosed with the letter was a body art license application packet.

. On November 4, 2011, MDH received a body art technician license application from
technician via mail.

. Enclosed with the body art technician license application was a spreadsheet of
Technician’s verification of experience. The spreadsheet consisted of the date of the
procedure, the client name, and the type of permanent makeup procedure. Verification of
experience is evidence of 2,080 hours of tattooing in the past five years. Minnesota



10.

Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 10, repealed in 2013, required evidence of 2,080
hours of tattooing to allow an individual to be “grandfathered” in.

On December 12, 2011, Technician was issued a full body art technician license.

Based on the spreadsheet that was submitted to MDH, Technician provided 26
permanent makeup services in 2011 and before the issuance of her license. Specifically,
6 permanent makeup procedures in February 2011, 4 permanent makeup procedures in
March 2011, 9 permanent makeup procedures in April 2011, 1 permanent makeup
procedure in June and July of 2011, and 2 permanent makeup procedures in August and
September of 2011.

On June 16, 2014, MDH sent a letter to Technician requesting the informed consent
forms for the 26 permanent makeup procedures she provided in 2011 before the issuance
of her license.

On July 16, 2014, MDH received a letter of response by mail. Enclosed with the letter
were some of the informed consent forms that were requested from Technician. In the
letter of response, Technician stated she “do not have forms beyond the required 3 years”.

Reviewing the informed consent forms Technician submitted to MDH on July 16, 2014,
Technician provided 3 permanent makeup services in June of 2011 and 10 permanent
makeup services in August of 2011. All 13 procedures occurred at Sunbear Spa in White

Bear Lake, MN.

The number of informed consent forms Technician submitted on July 16, 2014, did not
match the number of permanent makeup procedures she provided on the spreadsheet that
Technician submitted to MDH on November 4, 2011. For example, there were no
informed consent forms for July 2011. However, the spreadsheet Technician provided to
MDH on November 4, 2011 shows she performed 1 permanent makeup services during
July 2011. Another example is that there are 8 informed consent forms for August 2011
while the spreadsheet shows Technician performed 2 permanent makeup services in
August 2011.

CONCLUSION

Operator did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.03, subdivision 1. Operator performed body art services from January 2011 to
September, 2011, but did not obtain licensure until December 12, 2011.



DETERMINATION

1. Operator is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $425 which
deprives Operator of the economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses
MDH for costs of the investigation.

Operator may pay the $425 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 6
months after the effective date of this action. If Operator chooses to make
installments, she must notify MDH in writing about her intentions, including how
many installments she intends to do, in what amount, and over which time period.
Operator must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, PO Box
64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this document.
Each payment will be made by check to “State of Minnesota, Treasurer” and
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time.

The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.17, to
obtain a judgment against Technician without further notice or proceedings.





