
Effective July 19, 2014 

June 17, 2014 
Protecting, maintaining and improving the health ofall Minnesotans 

Mr. Cory R. Donicht 

RE: MOH File Number: BAC13011 & BAC13051 

Dear Mr. Donicht: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota 

Department ofHealth (MOH) have determined that you: [l] provided body art services without a license, 

in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 

146B.03, subdivision 1 (a); [2] provided body art services to a minor, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, 

section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision 2 (b); and (3] 
provided body art services in an unlicensed establishment, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 

146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.02 subdivision l. Therefore, MDH is 

issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $729. This action is authorized 

pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4. 


You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. Ifyou accept, please pay the 

assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota." Ifyou wish to appeal 

the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your 

appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by 

you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case 

hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in 

writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 


You must provide a written statement ofyour decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in 

the enclosed Determination, within 30 days ofyour receipt of this letter, to: 


Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department ofHealth 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to 

Gilbert Acevedo at ( 651)201-3727. Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee 

at (651)201-3728. 


Sincerely, 

Darcy Miner, Director 
Compliance Monitoring Division 

Enclosure 
cc: Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
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OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH 

A Determination In the Matter of 
Cory R. Donicht 

Body Art Technician 

AUTHORITY 

1. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations oflaw under'Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision 
2; and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3. Pursuant to Minnesota 
Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may impose 
include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 

2. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also 
impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the licensee of any economic 
advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH for costs of the 
investigation. 

·

3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

4. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, no individual may 
perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician license issued by MDH. 

S. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision 2 (b ), no technician shall 
tattoo any individual under the age of 18 regardless of parental or guardian consent. 

6. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.02, subdivision 1, no individual may 
maintain, own, or operate a body art establishment without an establishment license 
issued by MDH. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. On October 3, 2012, MDH received an email complaint from Coon Rapids Housing 
Official that Cory Donicht (hereinafter "Technician") was providing body art services out 
of his apartment in Coon Rapid, Minnesota. 

2. A Notice of Illegal Practice letter was sent to Technician, along with a body art 
technician license application, on October 3, 2012. MDH requested a response from 
Technician no later than November 2, 2012. MDH did not receive a response from 
Technician. 



3. 	 On May 22, 2013, MDH received a complaint from Coon Rapids Police Department that 
Technician was providing body art services out of his apartment in Coon Rapids, 
Minnesota and that he tattooed a minor. Attach to the complaint was the police report 
and the citation to the Technician. 

4. 	 A Notice of Illegal Practice was sent to Technician on May 23, 2013. MDH requested a 
response from Technician no later than June 23, 2013. MDH did not receive a written 
response from Technician. However, MDH did receive a temporary body art technician 
license application from Technician on June 6, 2013. 

5. 	 Technician was issued a temporary body art technician-tattoo license on June 11, 2013. 

6. 	 On July 1, 2013, MDH received a third complaint that Technician was providing body art 
services out of his apartment in Coon Rapids, Minnesota. 

7. 	 Technician was issued a full body art technician-tattoo license on August 13, 2013. 

8. 	 A Notice of Illegal Practice letter was sent to Technician on August 20, 2013. MDH 
requested a written response from Technician no later than September 20, 2013. On 
September 18, 2013, MDH did receive a written response from Technician. 

9. 	 In Technician's September 18, 2013, response, he admitted to providing tattoo services to 
a minor in his apartment. 

10. On January 3, 2014, MDH sent another letter to Technician. In Technician's response 
letter received on January 27, 2014, Technician stated he has only provided body art 
services to one client, the minor, in his apartment. 

11. A review of the Coon Rapids Police Department report shows Technician admitted to 
providing body art services in his apartment for the past six to eight months. The police 
report states the minor met the Technician through a friend who had also received a tattoo 
from Technician. The police report also stated Technician's clients all knew each other 
and that is how they learned Technician provided tattoo services. 

12. A review of court records show Technician was convicted in August 2013 of a petty 
misdemeanor for tattooing a minor; in violation of Minnesota Statutes section 609.2246 
(repealed in August 1, 2013) and given a fine of$185. 

CONCLUSION 

1. 	 Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), because by his admission in the police report, he practiced 
body art for six to eight months, before he was issued a technician's license on June 11, 
2013, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 (a). 



2. 	 Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), because he tattooed a minor, in violation of Minnesota 
Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision 2 (b). 

3. 	 Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), because he provided body art services in an unlicensed 
establishment, in violation ofMinnesota Statues, section 146B.02, subdivision 1. 

DETERMINATION 

• 	 Technician will not be allowed to supervise temporary body art technicians; 
• 	 A supervisor is expected to be knowledgeable about safe body art procedures and 

the state statutes that govern the practice of body art. MDH has determined that 
Technician violated provisions of body art chapter and that Technician 
demonstrated a careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of a client. 
Therefore, Technician may not supervise temporary technicians and MDH will 
deny all applicants that list Technician as a supervisor for two years . 

• 	 Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $914, 
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

• 	 The $185 fine Technician paid in August 2013 will also serve as credit to the civil 
penalty MDH is issuing the Technician. 

• 	 Technician may pay the $729 ($914 - $185 = $729) civil penalty in monthly 
installments of up to 7 months after the effective date of this action. IfTechnician 
chooses to make installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his 
intentions, including how many installments he intends to make, in what amount, 
and over which time period. Technician must send this information to: Health 
Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 
days ofreceipt of this document. 

• 	 Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164­
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time. 

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part 
of the Minnesota Department ofRevenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.l 7, to 
obtain a judgment against Technician without further notice or proceedings. 




