
MDH  Effective June 22,. 2014  

Protecting;  maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans 
May 16, 2014  

Mark D. Gripp ' 
Cloud 9 Tattoo   Body Piercing ' 
568 Dodge Avenue NW Suite #A ' 
Elk River, MN 55330  

RE:  MDH File Number: BAC1401 l  

Dear Mr. Gripp:  

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota ' 
Department of Health. (MOH) has determined that Cloud 9 Tattoo   Body Piercing, Elk Riv.er, an ' 
establishment you own, has provided body art services without a body art establishment license, in ' 
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivision 3(3) and Minnesota Statutes  146B.02, ' 
subd.ivision 1.  MOH has also determined that, as owner and operator of the body art establishment, you ' 
failed to maintain proper records for each body art procedure performed, in violation of Minnesota ' 
Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivision 3(3) and Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.07 subdivision ' 
4.  Therefore, the Department is issuing this reprimand and assessing a civil penalty in the amount of ' 
$1, 760.  This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section  146B.08, subdivision 4. ' 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please pay the ' 
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota."  If you wish to appeal ' 
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your ' 
appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by 
 
you.  During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case ' 
hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14.  Requests for a hearing should be made in ' 
writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision. ' 

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in ' 
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: ' 

Anne Kukowski, Assistant Director of the Health Occupations Program  
Minnesota Department of Health  
PO Box 64882  
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882  

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220,  Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Anne ' 
Kukowski at (651)201-3839.  If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at ' 
(651)201-3728. ' 

Sincerely,  

Darcy Miner, Director 
Compliance Monitoring Division  

Enclosure  

cc:  Anne Kukowski, Assistant Director of the Health Occupations Program  
General Information: 651-201-5000  •  Toll-free: 888-345-0823  •  T7Y: 651-201-5797  •  www.health.state.mn.us  



HEALTH TH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM  
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH  

A Determination In the Matter of  
Cloud 9 Tattoo    Body Piercing, Elk River  

Body Art Establishment  

AUTHORITY  

1. &The  Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline owners of body  
art establishments for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 214 .131,  
subdivision 2, and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3. Pursuant to  
Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may  
impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action.  

2. &Pursuant  to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MOH may also  
impose, for each violation, a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the  
operator of an establishment of any economic advantage gained by the violation and  
reimburses MDH for costs of investigation .  

3. &Pursuant  to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any  
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disdplinary action.  

4 &Pursuant  to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.02, subdivision 1, effective January 1,  
2011, no establishment may provide body art services unless the establishment has a  
valid establishment license issued by MDH.  

5. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision 4, for each client, the  
establishment operator shall maintain proper records for each procedure.  The records  
must be kept for three years and must be available for inspection.  The record must  
include the date of procedure, information on the required picture identification showing  
the name, age, and current address of the client, and the name and license number of the  
technician performing the procedure.  

FINDINGS OF FACT  

1. &Cloud  9 Tattoo   Body Piercing (hereinafter "Establishment"), a body art establishment,  
is located at 568 Dodge Avenue NW Suite #A, in Elk River, Minnesota.  The license,  
number 430115, was issued on January  14, 2011  and expired on September 30, 2013:  

2. &The  owner of the establishment is Mark Gripp (hereinafter "Establishment Owner").  The  
Establishment Owner is a licensed Body Art Technician.  



On July 3, 2013, MDH sent an Establishment License Renewal Application packet to the 
Establishment Owner. Enclosed with the packet is a License Renewal Notice with a 
checklist to complete the renewal process and avoid late fees. 

4. On October 1, 2013, MDH sent a letter to Establishment Owner advising that he had 
failed to renew the establishment license and to cease all body art activities. 

5. On March 14, 2014, MDH received a Body Art Establishment Renewal License 
application. The establishment license was renewed on March 17, 2014. 

6. The application was referred to the Investigation and Enforcement Unit (I&E) within the 
Health Occupations Program. A Notice of Illegal Practice letter was sent to the 
Establishment Owner on March 26, 2014. The letter advised the Establishment Owner 
that his establishment license had been expired for a few months now and that the 
Establishment had been operating without an establishment license since October 1, 
2013. In the letter, I&E requested all the informed consent forms for the Establishment 
since October 1, 2013. 

7. On April 28, 2014, the requested informed consent forms were hand delivered to the 
MDHoflice. 

8. Based on the informed consent forms, 151 body art procedures were performed at the 
Establishment from October 1, 2013 to May 16, 2014. 28 body art procedures occurred 
in the month of October 2013, 36 bcidy art procedures occurred in the month of 
November 2013, 21 body art procedures occurred in the month of December 2013, 23 
body art procedures occurred in the month of January 2014, 23 body art procedures 
occurred in the month of February 2014, and 20 body art procedures occurred from 
March 1, 2014 to March 16, 2014. 

9. All the informed consent forms were missing the name and license number of the 
technician performing the procedure. 

CONCLUSION 

1. Establishment Owner failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 146B.02, subdivision l and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivision 3 
(3). Body art services were performed in the Establishment between October 1, 2013 and 
March 16, 2014, a time after which the Establishment's license had expired and before it 
was renewed on May 17, 2014. 

2. Establishment Owner 'failed  to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 146B.08 subdivision 3 (3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision 
4 (5). A review.ofthe informed consent forms that were submitted by the Establishment 
shows many forms were without the name and license number of the technician 
performing the procedure. 



DETERMINATION ' 

1. & Establishment Owner is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of  
$1,760 which deprives him of the economic advantage gained by the violation and  
reimburses MDH for the costs of the investigation.  

• & Technician may pay the $1,760 civil penalty in monthly installments. The last  
payment may not be made later than 18 months after the effective date of this  
action.  If the Establishment Owner chooses to make installments, he must notify  
MDH in writing about his intentions, including how many installments he intends  
to make, in what amount, and over what time period.  The Establishment Owner  
must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint  
Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this document.  

• & Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer", and  
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-  
0882, or any other address specified by MDH.  Each payment is due by the last  
day of each month; however, the Establishment Owner may prepay at any time.  

• & The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part  
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if the  
Establishment Owner misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the  
established deadline.  When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH  
refers the matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section  
160.17, to obtain a judgment against the Establishment Owner without further  
notice or proceedings.  




