
Protecting, maintaining and improving the health ofall Minnesotans 

Effective Date: January 10, 2016

December 4, 2015 

David Baker-Zappia 
Lenny's After 4 Ever Tattoos 

 
 

RE: MDHFileNumber: BAC11037/BAC13037/BAC15050 

Dear Mr. Baker-Zappia: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the 
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you: [1] provided bo.dy art services 
without a license, in violation ofMinnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), and 
Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 (a); [2] provided body art services in an 
unlicensed establishment, in violation of Minnesota Statutes 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3) and 
Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.02, subdivision 1; [3] intentionally submitted false or 
misleading information, in violation of Minnesota Statute 146B.08, subdivision 3 (1); and [4] 
advertised in a manner that is false or misleading, in violation of Minnesota Statutes 146B.08 
subdivision 3 (8). Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil . 
penalty in the amount of $2,299. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, 
section 146B.08, subdivision 4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. Ifyou accept, please 
pay the assessed civil penalty by check niade payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota." Ifyou 
wish to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error 
and the grounds' for your appeal. Your written statement must be received at MDH within 30 
days from the date this letter is received by you. During that 30-day period, you also have the 
right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as. provided under Minnesota 
Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and must include specific 
grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline 
outlined in the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: 

General Information: 651-201-5000 • Toll-free: 888-345-0823 • www.health.state.mn.us 
An equal opportunity employer 

http:www.health.state.mn.us


Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it 
to Anne Kukowski at (651) 201-3839. Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please 
contact Chee Lee at (651) 201-3728. 

Sincerely, 

~~v 
Darcy Miner, Director 

Health Regulation Division 


Enclosure 

cc: Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program 



HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 


A Determination In the Matter of 

David Baker-Zappia 

Body Art Technician 


AUTHORITY 


1. 	

2. 	

3. 	

4. 	

,The Minnesota Department ofHealth (MDH) has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations oflaw under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 
3. Putsuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline 
MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4 (5), MDH may also 
impose a civil penalty, not exceeding $10,000, that deprives the licensee of any economic 
advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH for costs of the 
investigation. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (8), MDH may take any 
of the disciplinary actions on proof that a technician or an operator of an establishment 
has advertised in a manner that is false or misleading. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (1), MDH may take any 
of the disciplinary actions on proof that technician has intentionally submitted false or 
misleading information to the commissioner. 

5. 	

6. 	

7. 	

8. 	

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.02, subdivision 1, no person acting 
individually or jointly with any other person may maintain, own, or operate a body art 
establishment in the state without an establishment license. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.01, subdivision 5, "body art establishment" 
is defined as any structure or venue, whether permanent, temporary, or mobile, where 
body art is performed. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 (a), no individual may 
perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician license issued by MDH. 

9. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 2 (a), no individual may use 
the title of "tattooist," "tattoo artist," "tattoo technician," or other letters, words, or titles 
in connection with that individual's name which in any way represents that the individual 



is engaged in the practice of tattooing or authorized to do so, unless the individual is 
licensed and authorized to perform tattooing. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. 	

2. 	

3. 	

4. 	

5. 	

For several years, including 2010, David Baker-Zappia (hereinafter "Technician") 
operated Dominic's Metal & Gear (hereinafter "Establ~shment #1 ") in Duluth, MN. 
Technician provided body art services in Establishment #1. ­

Effective January 1, 2011, all technicians who provide body art in Minnesota must be 
licensed by MDH; Effective January 1, 2011, all establishments providing body art in 
Minnesota must be licensed by MDH. 

On June 28, 2010, and October 13, 2010, body art license application packets were 
mailed to Technician. 

On April 1, 2011, a third body art license application packet was hand delivered by an 
MDH staff to a worker at Establishment #1. 

On April 1, 2011, at approximately 2:22pm, Techriician left a voicemail for the MDH 
staff who dropped the application off. The voicemail stated, "Yes, my name is Dave 
Zappia. You had stopped by my place of business today in Duluth, Minnesota. I did 
want to call you back and discuss what it is that has delayed us and what it is we can do 
to obviously fulfill our obligation to the State of Minnesota. I do apologize for you to 
come and have an introduction in such a way. I am just returning in from out of town for 
quite a few days here. Feel free to call me back 6n Monday like your voicemail had 
mentioned and we can discuss this further. Until that point, I will obviously cease work 
at this point. Obviously, that was what was mentioned from you to one of my workers 
and that is what we will do until I hear further from you. Again, this is David Zappia, 
218-213-7778." 

6. 	

7. 	

8. 	

On June 22, 2011, MDH received a body art technician license application from 
Technician. MDH also received a body art establishment license application from 
Technician. The body art establishment license application was not for Establishment #1. 
Instead, the license application was for Dominic's Downtown (hereinafter "Establishment 
#2") with an address of 620 1st A venue in Two Harbors, Minnesota. -

Both body art applications were incomplete as Technician did not submit the required 
fees of $110 for the technician license and $1, 100 for the establishment license. 

On July 29, 2011, MDH sent Technician letters advising him his applications were 
incomplete and that they would not be processed until payments were received. 



9. 	

10. 

11. 

12. 

13. 

14. 

15. 

16. 

17. 

18. 

19. 

On September 9, 2011, MDH sent Technician second notice letters advising him h_is. 
applications were incomplete and that they would not be processed until payments were 
received. MDH requested a response from Technician no later than October 10, 2011. 

While waiting for a response from Technician, MDH received information from 
numerous sources that Technician was providing illegal tattoo services at Establishment 
#2 and that they were occurring after 5pm. 

On October 12, 2011, MDH attempted to serve Technician with a cease and desist order; 
however, Establishment #2 was not open and Technician was not on site. 

On November 18, 2011, MDH sent Technician final notice letters advising him his 
applications were incomplete and that if payments were not received by December 19, 
2011, his applications would be denied. MDH did not receive a response from 
Technician. 

I 

On February 6, 2012, MDH received a complaint that Technician had tattooed the 
complainant (hereinafter "Client #1 ")at Technician's home and that she paid $200 up 
front. 

On February 8, 2012, MDH sent a letter with questions to Client #1. The letter came 
back as "Return to sender," "Not deliverable as addressed," and "Unable to forward." 

On February 20, 2012, MDH sent Technician a letter advising him his body art technician 
license application had been denied. 

On February 22, 2012, MDH sent Technician a letter advising him his body art 
establishment license application had been denied. · 

On December 5, 2012, MDH received complaints that technician had tattooed the 
complainant (hereinafter "Client #2") on 3 different occasions from February 2012 
through August 2012 and that they occurred at Establishment #2. 

Enclosed with the complaint forms were 2 DVD's. Client #2 stated, "I am submitting a 
DVD of unaltered footage that covers my three separate visits between February 2012 
and August 2012." Client #2 stated her husband recorded each tattoo procedure for 
documentary purposes. 

On May 28, 2013, an internet search shows Technician advertising his body art services 
on Facebook. 

a. 	 On August 29, 2011: "To all my supporters, we have relocated to Two Harbors, 
MN and feel free to call for our schedule any time as our number is being 
relocated,, 21_8-213-7778 .. great art at our new location!! Cheers, DZ." 



b. 	

c. 	

d. 	

e. 	

On March 2, 2012, a client comments "Hey Dave I came to you guys a while ago 
and a guy named Josh did my tat and I was wondering if you still have him 
working? I would like him to draw a set of wings for me and get them on my 
back." Technician replied back on March 23, 2012: "Call the shop (218) 213­
7778." 

On December 11, 2012, Technician commented on Facebook: "Great moments 
here in Two Harbors, MN ! ! Amazing Family time with some Super creative Art 

. happing!! 	Thank you all for hanging in there while I've made so many 
adjustments to my daily scheduling as well as my continued improvements with 
my tattooing ability!!" 

On December 20, 2012, a potential clients asked Technician: "Is there still a shop 
in Duluth or only in two harbors??" Technician replied back on January 15, 
2013: "Two Harbors as of now, but we might be looking to open up in Duluth 
again." 

On April 10, 2013, a potential client asked Technician, "Just wondering if you are 
still open in Two Harbors?" Technician replied back on the same date at 6:07pm 
with "(218) 213-7778". 

20. On another Facebook site, Technician can be seen advertising his tattoo services. 

a. 	

b. 	

c..

21. 

22. 

On July 16, 2011: "NEW LOCATION -620 pt Ave in Two Harbors (next to 
Wells Fargo) $25 off $100 or more" 

A client commenting, "Just got an awesome tattoo from Dave in Two Harbors!" 
The comment was placed about 9 months ago from May 28, 2013. 

 	On May 22, 2012: "Call & Schedule a Tattoo - 620 1st Avenue Two Harbors, MN 
(218) 213-7778". 

On May 22, 2015, MDH received a temporary body art technician license from 
Technician. 

On June 18, 2015, Technician was issued a temporary body art technician license. 

23. 

24. 

On July 9, 2015, MDH sent Technician a Notice of Illegal Practice letter regarding his 
past unlicensed body art activities. The letter requested the informed consent forms of all 
body art procedures that occurred from January 1, 2010 to June 17, 2015. The letter also 
asked why Technician performed body art services without a body art technician license 
or a body art e_stablishment license. 

On August 25, 2015, MDH sent a second Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Technician as 
Technician failed to respond to the first letter. 



25. 

26. 

27. 

28. 

a. 	

b. 	

c. 	

On September 13, 2015, MDH received a letter ofresponse from Technician. In the 
letter, Technician stated he had no informed consent forms dated after January 1, 2011 as 
he "was forced to stop my tattooing services in the state on Minnesota. Due to my 
incomplete application submitted to MDH to obtain my license of a tattooist/body 
piercer/establishment in Minnesota." 

On September 22, 2015, MDH sent Technician a letter with further questions. Enclosed 
with the letter was a copy of the Facebook printout mentioned in Findings of Fact #19. 

The letter asked Technician about the contradictory statements he gave MDH on 
September 13, 2015 in which he stated that he did not provide body art compared to the 
statements given in the Facebook printout pages. 

On November 5, 2015, MDH received a letter of response from Technician. In the 

response, Technician responded with: 


"I'll start with apologizing for my last reply and its lack of information. I truly do 
not have a good recollection of specific information from the time period in 
question. Again, it was a trying time in my life and with no definite information 
to review; I obviously hadn't recalled the services that I may have rendered." 

"A roller coaster ride of ups and downs while making the right and wrong 
decisions with work and personal surviving needs, I applied for work with local 
businesses. And them not having openings and or available jobs that were 
suitable for my employment. That in tum led me to work at times while not being 
in compliance with M.D.H. Not only due to my personal needs of well being, but 
also due to the needs of my pre-existing clients that expected certain works to be 
completed. All of which I am ashamed and embarrassed for my actions." 

"Also, as for any specific information of any specific clients during the time 
period in question, I can't say I was acting in accordance, because I probably was 
not and I don't truly know. I do know, that I never intended to be so sloppy with 
in my professional ability to service my desired tattoo clients." 

CONCLUSION 

Given the preponderance of evidence, MDH finds: 

1. 	 Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivisions 3 (3), because he practiced body art before he was issµed a 
technician's license, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 
l(a). 



2. 	

3. 	

4. 	

Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivisions 3 (3), because he provided body art in an unlicensed 
establishment, in violation ofMinnesota Statutes, section 146B.02, subdivision 1. 

Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), because he advertised body art services for his business in 
Facebook when he was not authorized to offer such services. Therefore, Technician 
misled the public with false advertisements and is in violation of Minnesota Statutes, 
section 146B.03, subdivision 2 (a) and section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (8). 

Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivision 3 (1) as he initially stated he did not provide body art after January 
1, 2011. When asked to provide an explanation of the comments seen on Facebook. 
pag·es, Technician changed his statement to say that he may have provided unlicensed 
body art and is "ashamed and embarrassed for my actions." 

DETERMINATION 

1. 	

• 	

• 	

• 	

Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $2,299, 
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. · 

Technician may pay the $2,299 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 20 
months after the effective date of this action. IfTechnician chooses to make 
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how 
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time 
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, 
PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this 
document. 
Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasure," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164­
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time. 
The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part 
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to M CE, M CE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 1 (}D.1 7, to 
obtain a judgment against Practitioner without further notice or proceeding. 




