
Effective 08/10/14 MDH 
Protecting, maintaining and improving the health ofallMinnesotans July 3, 2014 

Angie Byboth 

RE: MOH File Number: BAC12007 

Dear Ms. Byboth: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota 
Department of Health (MOH) has determined that you: [I] provided body art services without a license, 
in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.03, subdivision 1 (a); and [2] provided body art services in an unlicensed establishment, in violation 
ofMinnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivisions 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.02, 
subdivisions 1. Therefore, MOH is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil penalty in the amount of 
$749. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 146B.08, subdivision 4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. Ifyou accept, please pay the 
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota." Ifyou wish to appeal 
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for.your 
appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date you received this letter. 
During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, 
as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and 
must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in 
the enclosed. Determination, within 30 days ofyour receipt ofthis letter, to: 

Gil Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Gil 
Acevedo at (651 )201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at 
(651)201-3728. 

Sincerely, 

Compliance Monitoring Division 

Enclosure 
cc: Gil Acevedo, Director ofthe Health Occupations Program 
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 
MINNESOTADEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

A Determination In the Matter of 

Angie Byboth 


Body Art Technician 

Permanent Makeup Arts, Roseville 


Body Art Establishment 


AUTHORITY 

1. 	 The Minnesota Department ofHealth (MDH) has authority to discipline a body art 
operator for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision 2; 
and Minnesota Statutes, section l 46B.08, subdivision 3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, 
section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may impose include refusal 
to grant a iicense or any reasonable lesser action. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also 
impose a civil penalty, for each violation, not exceeding $10,000, that deprives the 
operator of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for 
costs of the investigation. 

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, effective January 1, 
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician 
license issued by MDH. 

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.02, subdivision 1, effective January 1, 
2011, no person shall maintain or operate a body art establishment without an 
establishment license issued by MDH. 

5. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation ofany 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

I. 	Permanent Makeup Arts (hereinafter "Establishment") located at 1315 Larpenteur 
Avenue West Suite #J, Roseville, Minnesota is licensed as a body art establishment, 
under license number 410138, effective June 22, 2011. Angie Byboth is the 
owner/operator (hereinafter "Operator") of the Establishment 

2. 	 On June 2, 2011, MDH received a body art technician license and a body art 
establishment license application from Operator. The establishment license was issued to 
Operator. However, the technician license was not issued, as the application was 
incomplete. 



3. 	 On June 16, 2011, MDH sent a letter to Operator advising her application could not be 
processed as it was incomplete. The letter had a list of items the Operator needed to 
provide to MDH in order to process her application. The list included verification of 
credentials and verification ofexperience. Verification ofexperience is evidence of 
2,080 hours of tattooing in the past five years. Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, 
subdivision 10, repealed in 2013, required evidence of 2,080 hours of tattooing to allow 
an individual to be "grandfathered" in. 

4. 	 On July 19, 2011, Operator submitted documents that attempted to show proof of . 
experience to MDH. 

5. 	 On July 29, 2011, MDH received an email complaint that Operator was providing 
permanent makeup services at the Establishment without a technician's license. 

6. 	 On August 2, 2011, MDH sent a Notice ofIllegal Practice letter to Operator. The letter 
requested a response from Operator no later than September 1, 2011, along with a list of 
all body art services Operator performed since January 1, 2011. 

7. 	 On August 11, 2011, MDH emailed Operator with a request to submit the verification of 
credentials and to resubmit the verification ofexperience as it was difficult to understand. 

8. 	 On August 31, 2011, MDH received a response from Operator pertaining to the Notice of 
Illegal Practice letter. Operator stated she "wasn't aware of MN changing the laws on 
body art establishments." Operator also encfosed a chart listing the number ofpermanent 
makeup services she provided from January 2011 through August 2011.' 

9. 	 On October 20, 2011, MDH emailed Operator a 3rd notice advising her to submit her 
verification of credentials to complete her license application. 

10. On November 14, 2011, Operator submitted all the verification of credentials paperwork 
that was required to process the license application. 

11. On November 15, 2011, Operator was issued a full body art technician license. 

12. On April 15, 2014, MDH sent Operator a letter requesting copies of the informed consent 
forms from January!, 2011 to November 14, 2011. 

13. On May 6, 2014, MDH received the informed consent forms that were requested from 
Operator. 

14. Based on the chart that was submitted to MDH on August 31, 2011, Operator performed 
25 permanent makeup services in January 2011, 25 permanent makeup services in 
February 2011, 13 permanent makeup services in March 2011, 19 permanent makeup 
services in April 2011, 17 permanent makeup services in May 2011, 17 permanent 
makeup services in June 2011, 36 permanent makeup services in July 2011, and 49 
permanent makeup services in August 2011. 



15. Based on the informed consent forms that were received on May 6, 2014, Operator 
performed 17 permanent makeup services September 2011, 15 permanent makeup 
services in October 2011, and 4 permanent makeup services from November I, 2011 to 
November 14, 2011. 

16. The number of forms Operator submitted on May 6, 2014 did not match the number on 
the chart that Operator submitted to MDH on August 31, 2011. For example, there were 
no informed consent forms for .January 2011. .However, the chart Operator gave to MDH 
on August 31, 2011 shows she performed 25 permanent makeup services during January 
2011. Another example is that there is only one informed consent form for February 
2011 while the chart shows Operator performed 25 permanent makeup services in 
February 2011. 

CONCLUSION 

1. Operator did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
I 46B.03, subdivision I. Operator performed body art services from January 2011 to 
November 14, 2011, but did not obtain licensure until November 15, 2011. ' 

I. 	Operator did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.02 subdivision I. Operator performed body art services in the Establishment from 
January 2011 to June 21, 2011. Establishment was not licensed until June 22, 2011. 

DETERMINATION 

I. Operator is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $749, 
which deprives Operator of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs ofthe investigation. 
. 

• 	 Operator may pay the $749 civil penalty in monthly installments ofup to 7 
months after the effective date of this action. IfOperator chooses to make 
installments, she must notify MDH in writing about her intentions, including how 
many installments she intends to do, in what amount, and over which time period. 
Operator must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, PO Box 
64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days ofreceipt of this document. 

• 	 Each payment will be made by check to "State ofMinnesota, Treasurer" and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day ofeach month; however, technician may prepay at any time. 

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part 
ofthe Minnesota Department ofRevenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 160.17, to 
obtain a judgment against Technician without further notice or proceedings. 




