
Effective May13, 2015 


Protecting, maintaining and improving the health ofall Minnesotans 

April 13, 2015 

Miranda L. Avant 

RE: MDH File Number: BAC12061 

Dear Ms. Avant: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota 
Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you provided body art services without a license, in 
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.03, subdivision 1 (a). Therefore, MDH is issuing you a reprimand, imposing a civil penalty in the 
amount of $1,284, and issuing you a conditional technician license. This action is authorized pursuant to 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 146B.08, subdivision 4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. Ifyou accept, please pay the 
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota." If you wish to appeal 
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your 
appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date you received this letter. 
During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, 
as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and 
must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in 
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: 

Gil Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Gil 
Acevedo at (651)201-3839. Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at 
(651)201-3728. 

Sincerely, / 

·~LA_ u1 flv~L{L/ 
Darcy Miner, Director/ 
Health Regulation Division 

Enclosure 
cc: Gil Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 

General Information: 651-201-5000 • Toll-free: 888-345-0823 • www.health.state.mn.us 
An equal opportunity employer 
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 


A Determination In the Matter of 

Miranda Leigh Avant 

Body Art Technician 


AUTHORITY 


1. 	 The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations oflaw under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline 
MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license, suspension of a license, or any 
reasonable lesser action. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4 (5), MDH may also 
impose, for each violation, a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the 
licensee of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for 
costs of the investigation. 

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data. 

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

5. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivisions 1 (a), no individual may 
perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid tattoo technician license issued by 
MDH. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. 	 On October 6, 2011, Hastings Police Department faxed over to MDH a police report. 
The police report, case#201 l-3898, stated: 
• 	
• 	
• 	

• 	

• 	

There was a recreational vehicle parked in the driveway of 
There were illegal tattoo activities occurring inside the recreational vehicle. 
Officers made contact with the owner, Miranda Avant (Hereinafter "Technician") of 
the recreational vehicle on September 26, 2011. 
Technician admitted to the officers she did not have a body art technician tattoo 
license and was aware she needed to have one in order to tattoo in Minnesota. 
Technician admitted to tattooing her friends, including the owner of the residence the 
recreational vehicle was currently parked at. 



2. 	

3. 	

4. 	

5. 	

6. 	

7. 	

8. 	

9. 	

10. 

On October 7, 2011, MDH sent a Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Technician. MDH 
requested a written response from Technician no later than November 8, 2011. A 
response was not received by Technician. 

On November 10, 2011, MDH sent a 2nd Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Technician. 
MDH requested a written response from Technician no later than December 12, 2011. A 
response was not received by Technician. 

On May 12, 2012, sent a 3rd Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Technician. MDH 
requested a written response from Practitioner no later than June 13, 2012. A response 
was not received by Technician. 

On November 9, 2012, MDH received a complaint that Technician was tattooing at other 
people's homes without a license. 

On July 5, 2013, MDH sent another Notice if Illegal Practice letter to Technician. On 
August 22, 2013, the letter came back to MDH as "Return to sender." 

On September 3, 2014, MDH received a temporary body art technician application from 
Technician. 

Technician was not issued a license as the supervisor Technician had listed already had 
two apprentices. 

On September 15, 2014, MDH sent a Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Technician. 

On October 15, 2014, MDH received a letter ofresponse from Technician. In the letter, 
Technician stated: 

• 	 "I have been a tattoo artist for almost 8 years and have never worked in a shop or 
even been in a shop until last month. When one of the staff at Hallows Eve tattoo 
called me and offered me a job, it was my first time in a shop. They informed me 
that I had to be licensed in order to work there. This was the first time I was ever 
informed that you needed a license to tattoo period. I only tattooed my family and 
friends as more of a hobby than a job. I was unaware you needed a license to do 
so." 

• 	 "I do not have any records because it was more of a hobby and again I did not 
know that I was required to keep records in my circumstances." 

11. On October 20, 2014, MDH sent a letter with questions to Technician. MDH requested a 
response no later than November 20, 2014. MDH did not receive a response from 
Technician. 

12. On November 20, 2014, MDH sent a letter (same letter that was sent on October 20, 
2014) with questions to Technician. 



13. 

14. 

• 	

• 	
• 	
• 	

1. 	

1. 	

The letter inquired about the contradictory statements Technician made to MDH and to 
the police. In the letter ofresponse received on October 15, 2014, Technician stated she 
was unaware she needed to license to tattoo. However, in the police report, Technician 
stated she was aware she needed a license to tattoo and that she did not have one. The 
letter also requested Technician update her Facebook page and to delete all reference to 
her tattoo activities as she cannot advertise her tattoo work unless she is licensed. 

On December 2, 2014, MDH received a written response from Technician. 	In the 
response, Technician: 

Thought in order to work in an establishment, one had to be licensed. Technician 
did not think it applied to tattooing friends at their houses. 
Admitted to making house calls and tattooing without a license. 
Advised she updated her Facebook page and removed all references to tattooing. 
Asked MDH to reconsider the decision to not issue her a temporary body art 
technician license. 

CONCLUSION 

Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), because she practiced body art without a body art technician 
license, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 (a). 

DETERMINATION 

Technician will be issued a conditional body art technician license, with the following 
conditions: 

• 	

• 	
• 	

• 	

• 	

• 	
• 	

Technician must resubmit a completed application for temporary body art 
technician and comply with all licensing procedures as requested by credentialing 

·staff. Technician licensing fee of $110, submitted on September 3, 2014, will be 
applied towards applicant's licensing fee. 
Technician must be supervised by a supervisor approved by MDH. 
Technician shall sign release forms necessary for the supervisor to report 
applicant's work directly to MDH. 
This Determination does not preclude MDH from taking other disciplinary actions 
against Technician for other violations of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 146B. 
Technician will comply with all requirements of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 
146B and all county and municipal ordinances. 
The license will be conditional for a period of not less than three years; 
Should Technician be issued a full body art technician license, Technician will 
not be allowed to supervise temporary body art technicians; 

o A supervisor is expected to be knowledgeable about safe body art 
procedures and the state statutes that govern the practice of body art. 
MDH has determined that Technician violated provisions of body art 
chapter and that Technician demonstrated a careless disregard for the 



health, welfare, or safety of a client. Therefore, Technician may not 
supervise temporary technicians and MDH will deny all applicants that list 
Technician as a supervisor for three years. 

• 	

2. 	

• 	

• 	

• 	

After a period of not less than three years, Technician may request the conditional 
status be removed from his license. To do so, Technician must: 

o Submit a written response for removal of the condition to the Director of 
the Health Occupations Program, Minnesota Department of Health, PO 
Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882; 

Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $1,284, 
which deprives Practitioner of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

Technician may pay the $1,284 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 6 
months after the effective date of this action. IfTechnician chooses to make 
installments, she must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how 
many installments she intends to make, in what amount, and over which time 
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, 
PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days ofreceipt ofthis 
document. 
Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164­
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time. 
The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part 
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to M CE, M CE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section l 6D .1 7, to 
obtain a judgment against Technician without further notice or proceedings. 




