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Protecting. maintaining and improving the health ofallMinnesotans 

May 21, 2014 

Jeremy Anderson 

RE: MDH File Number: BAC13067 

Dear Mr. Anderson: 

Based on the facts end law in this matter as described in the enclosed StaffDetennination, the Minnesota 
Department ofHealth (MDII). bas determined that you provided body art services without a license, in 
violation ofMinnesota Statutes, section l46B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 
l 46B.03, subdivision l. Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand end a civil penalty in the 
amount of$852. This action is authorized pursuentto Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 
4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeaI. Ifyou accept, please pay the 
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to ''Treasurer, State ofMinnesota." Ifyou wish to appeal
the discipline; you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error end the grounds for your 
appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by 
you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case 
hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a bearing should be made in 
writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement ofyour decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in 
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this l_etter, to: 

Gil Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
POBox64882 
Saint Paul,MN 55164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East SevSeventh Place, SSuite 220, Saint Paul,MN; or fax it to Anne
Kukowski at (65l)201-3839. Ifyou have any-questions about this matter, please oontact Chee Lee at 
(651)201-3728. 

Sincerely, 

Darcy Miner, Director 
Compliance Monitoring Division 

Enclosure 

cc: Anne Kukowski, Assistant Director ofthe Health Occupations Program 
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 


A Determination In the Matter of 

Jeremy M. Anderson 

Body Art Technician 


AUTHORITY. 

1. 	 The Minnesota Department ofHealth (MDH) bas authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations of Jaw under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision 
2; and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3. Pursuant to Minnesota 
Statutes; section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types ofdiscipline MDH may impose 
include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also 
impose, for each violation, a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the 
licensee ofany economic advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH for· 
costs of the investigation. 

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation ofany 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, no individual may 
perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician license issued by MDH. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. 	 Jeremy M. Anderson (Hereinafter "Technician"), was issued a temporary body art 
technician-tattoo license, effective August 29, 2011. Technician's temporary body art 
technician-tattoo license expired on August 29, 2012. 

2. 	 On October 3, 2013, MDH received a complaint that Technician had been providing 
tattoo services at Ink Spot Tattoos in Carlton, MN for the past year with an expired 
license. 

3. 	 A Notice oflliegal Practice letter was sent to Technician on October 17, 2013. MDH 
requested a written response from technician no later than November 18, 2013. 



4. 	 On October 25, 2013, MDH received a temporary body art technician license renewal 
application from Technician. Technician's temporary body art license was renewed and 
issued on November 6, 2013 with an expired date ofNovember 6, 2014.. 

. 5. On October 30, 2013atapproximately10 am, MDH staff received a phone call from 
Technician. Technician acknowledged performing tattoo services at Ink Spot in Carlton, 
MN with an expired license and stated, "I messed up and truly' apologize and couldn't 
help if'. Technician also stated he fowi.d. a new supervisor who was willing to work with 
. him and doing things "the right way". 

6. 	 Technician stated he would not be able to get copies of the informed consent forms as 
requested by MDH because the establishment closed. MDH staff advised Technician a 
written response was still required and Technician stated he would submit one. 

7. 	 MDH never received a response from Technician. A second Notice oflliegal practice 
was sent to Technician on December 31, 2013. MDHrequested a written response from 
Technician no later than January 31, 2014. 

8. 	 On January 16, 2014, MDH received a letter from Technician. Technician admitted to 
performing tattoos with no license.. 

9. 	 On February 10, 2014, MDH received an email from Technician. The email stated, "I 
admit to tattooing all ofthe months that I was unlicensed and I apologize for my mistake 
I hope you take my situation into consideration." 

CONCLUSION 

!. 	Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.03, subdivision 1, because he continued to practice body art after the expiration of 
bis temporary license on August 29, 2012 and before.issuance ofbis renewed temporary
license on November 6, 2013. 

DETERMINATION 

1. 	 Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $852 

which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 

reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 


• 	 Technician may pay the $852 civil penalty inmonthly installments ofup to 8 
months after the effective date ofthis action. IfTechnician chooses to make 
installments, he must notify MDH in writing abouthis intentions, including how 
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time 
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, 



PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days ofreceipt of this 
document. 

• 	 Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day of each month; however, Technician may prepay at any time. 

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), a part 
ofthe Minnesota Department ofRevenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section l 6D.l 7, to 
obtain a judgment against Technician without further notice or proceedings. 




